Gene Clark - White Light (Hybrid SACD) * * *

Price $29.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Gene Clark - White Light (Hybrid SACD) * * *

Gene Clark - White Light (Hybrid SACD) * * *

Price $29.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

Mastered Direct-To-DSD from the Real Analog Tapes by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio

As a founding member of folk-rock pioneers the Byrds, Gene Clark emerged as a uniquely gifted singer/songwriter and master of the minor key melancholy ballad. His departure from the group in 1966 was met with critical anticipation and commercial indifference. Tiring of Hollywood fast lane by 1969, Gene and new wife Carlie moved up to Mendocino on the Northern California coast where the tranquility, pastoral beauty and laid back lifestyle of the coastal community appealed to his country boy roots. It inspired a body of songs unlike anything Gene had composed before. Their stark simplicity and stripped down arrangements, acoustic guitar, harmonica and voice, evidence a deeper insight into life and an overall optimism rarely found in his previous body of work.

The resulting album, White Light, produced by renown guitarist Jesse Ed Davis, remains one of Gene's most accessible and much-loved recordings among fans and critics, topping several Best Album of the Year lists. Songs like "For A Spanish Guitar," "With Tomorrow" and "Where My Love Lies Asleep" are delicately evocative while the title song draws on Gene's appreciation for country music. "One In A Hundred" harkens back to his finest Byrds compositions. Buoyed by his new surroundings, friendships, marriage, a feeling of contentment in his rural retreat and the imminent birth of his first child, White Light reveals the singer/songwriter at the top of his game.

Intervention Records offers up a Hybrid SACD edition of the album mastered direct-to-DSD by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio from the best source available - phenomenal-sounding 1/2" safety copies of the original stereo master tapes. The results are amazing! The beautiful guitar playing is full and rich, and listeners can hear the full body of the instruments, not just the strings. Gene's aching vocals have never been so emotive and immediate. The album art has been beautifully restored by IR's Tom Vadakan and comes complete with super jewel box packaging.

• Hybrid SACD from Intervention Records
• Mastered direct-to-DSD from the real analog tapes by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio
• Album art beautifully restored by IR's Tom Vadakan
• Super jewel box packaging
• Plays on all CD and SACD players

  1. The Virgin
  2. With Tomorrow
  3. White Light
  4. Because of You
  5. One In A Hundred
  6. Spanish Guitar
  7. Where My Love Lies Asleep
  8. Tears of Rage
  9. 1975
Customers Also Bought