The Rolling Stones - Some Girls: Super Deluxe Edition (2CD + DVD + 7" Box Set)

Price $179.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
The Rolling Stones - Some Girls: Super Deluxe Edition (2CD + DVD + 7" Box Set)

The Rolling Stones - Some Girls: Super Deluxe Edition (2CD + DVD + 7" Box Set)

Price $179.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed
The Rolling Stones Some Girls: Super Deluxe Edition Box Set on 2CD + DVD + 7" Vinyl

Includes the Original Album Remastered on CD, a Bonus CD with Extras, 7" Single, DVD, Unseen Photos by Helmut Newton, and an Essay by Anthony DeCurtis

Universal Music Group and The Rolling Stones present the remastered, expanded, Super-Deluxe edition of their groundbreaking 1978 album, Some Girls, which introduced the band to a whole new generation of fans. Justly considered one of the finest works by Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts, Bill Wyman and Ronnie Wood, Some Girls topped the US charts over three decades ago and remains the best selling album of their storied career.

In addition to the remastered album on CD and some undiscovered gems recently unearthed from the Rolling Stones vaults by producer Don Was, the Super Deluxe Edition of Some Girls will include a stunning, previously unseen Helmut Newton photo session from 1978, an essay by esteemed author and journalist Anthony DeCurtis putting the album in its cultural context, a 7" vinyl single of "Beast of Burden" b/w "When The Whip Comes Down" in its banned sleeve and Ken Regan shots from the era.

Some Girls is the Rolling Stones' most direct and diverse collection of material from Mick Jagger's irresistible falsetto on the four-on-the-floor filler "Miss You," their eighth U.S. #1, to the country-flavored "Far Away Eyes" via the Chuck Berry meets punk snarl of "Respectable." And let's not forget the sensuous, "Beast of Burden," one of Keith Richards' finest tunes, which reached #8 on the U.S. singles chart, the garage rocker "Shattered," the albums' third U.S. Top 40 entry, and the soulful swagger of the group's version of The Temptations' "Just My Imagination," another timeless offering in their canon of classic Stones Motown covers.

Following the critical praise and commercial success afforded the re-mastered, expanded editions of Exile On Main Street, which matched the chart performance of the epochal 1972 album, and returned the Rolling Stones to their rightful place at the top of the British charts in 2010, the extensive reissue of Some Girls constitutes the next step in the band's ongoing relationship with Universal Music Group.

Some Girls holds a special place in the history of the Rolling Stones and demonstrates why they remain one of the most thrilling and influential bands of all time. The 1978 album features the Keith Richards' classic "Before They Make Me Run," a signature song he still performs defiantly to this day. Some Girls documented Mick Jagger's love of 1970's funk reflected in "Miss You," the dance track that wrong footed many people, made the club and black charts, and made it okay for other mainstream acts at the time to 'go disco'.

The 1978 album also courted controversy because of Jagger's tongue-in-cheek lyrics on the title track, on "Miss You" and on "Respectable," perceived as a retort to the punk and new wave groups who had borrowed so much attitude and copped so many anti-establishment moves from the Rolling Stones. Ironically, the furor around the elaborate Some Girls package, designed by Peter Corriston and featuring the band members in drag, a nod in the direction of the picture on the 1966 single "Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing in the Shadow?" and likenesses of Lucille Ball, Farrah Fawcett, Raquel Welch, Judy Garland and Marilyn Monroe that hadn't been legally cleared, necessitating a swift withdrawal and rethink.

Some Girls demonstrated the distinctive and definitive riffing from Keith Richards, with its abundance of unstoppable licks and majestic power chords driving the band into its brand new musical direction. This album not only defined him and his playing, but also defined a new era for the Rolling Stones, with Richards since described as "a sense of renewal." Some Girls marks the only other time since recording "Satisfaction" where Richards used an effects pedal to 'elevate' the sound.

The album cemented the position of guitarist Ronnie Wood, who had joined in 1975, and added his trademark slide and pedal steel playing to several of the album's most memorable tracks, including "When the Whip Comes Down" and "Shattered." He also co-wrote the "Shattered" B-side "Everything Is Turning To Gold." Some Girls also marked a move to the Pathe Marconi Studios in Paris for the Glimmer Twins production team of Jagger and Richards. These factors helped what is arguably the group's most focused and dynamic album, driven by the sans pareil rhythm section of drummer Charlie Watts and bassist Bill Wyman.

Some Girls
featured fewer guest musicians than any Rolling Stones album since 1971, but the contributions keyboard-player Ian McLagan, Wood's bandmate in The Faces, saxophone-player Mel Collins, and harmonica player Sugar Blue  (discovered busking on the Paris metro), made "Miss You" in particular sound brighter than ever.

Thirty-three years on from its original release, the re-mastered expanded, Super Deluxe edition of Some Girls shows exactly why the 1978 album has often been hailed as the equal of Exile On Main Street. The album stands as both a time capsule and a timeless listen and it features the band at their tightest and toughest, at their most vibrant and vital.

CD 1 (Some Girls Remastered)
1.  Miss You
2.  When the Whip Comes Down
3.  Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
4.  Some Girls
5.  Lies
6.  Far Away Eyes
7.  Respectable
8.  Before They Make Me Run
9.  Beast of Burden
10. Shattered

CD2 - Extras
1.  Claudine
2.  So Young
3.  Do You Think I Really Care?
4.  When You're Gone
5.  No Spare Parts
6.  Don't Be A Stranger
7.  We Had It All
8.  Tallahassee Lassie
9.  I Love You Too Much
10. Keep Up Blues
11. You Win Again
12. Petrol Blues


7" Single
A1. Beast of Burden
B1. When the Whip Comes Down
Customers Also Bought