Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks - Orange Crate Art (Vinyl 2LP)

Price $33.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks - Orange Crate Art (Vinyl 2LP)

Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks - Orange Crate Art (Vinyl 2LP)

Price $33.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

Available On Vinyl for the First Time In Honor of 25th Anniversary Remastered by Michael Graves with Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks!

In 1966, when Brian Wilson prepared the follow up to his masterpiece Pet Sounds, he employed the services of Mississippi born Van Dyke Parks as lyricist for The Beach Boys next album, SMiLE. As history would soon document, SMiLE became the most famous unreleased album in rock history, it's "completion" not seeing daylight until a Grammy-award winning box set in 2012. SMiLE's original plan was to incorporate many different elements of American music in an avant-garde fashion, its musical format leaps and bounds ahead of anything that existed contemporaneously.

As SMiLE quickly grew in legendary terms, Brian and Van Dyke each went their separate musical ways, only to reunite briefly in 1972 for The Beach Boys classic "Sail On Sailor." So it was perhaps with great apprehension and excitement that these two musical giants should finally reunite in 1994 for some unfinished business. This time, however, the mission would be complete. The musical terrain familiar...a paeon to California...Omnivore Recordings is very proud to announce the release of the 25th anniversary special edition of Orange Crate Art by Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks.

By 1994, the roles had been reversed and it was Van Dyke who coaxed Brian into the studio to be the singer of nearly a dozen new songs he had written as a tribute to his home away from home. Parks writes in the liner notes, "Though my roots are somewhere else, far away, my limbs are here in Southern's here...that I have struggled desperately for a sense of place...Orange Crate Art is a continuum of that which stood, freeze-frame, at the release of SMiLE." "Orange Crate Art is one of the highlights of my life, working with Van Dyke again," added Brian. 

Twenty-five years on, this album which sounds like nothing before or since, has been majestically remastered by multi-Grammy award winner Michael Graves. Available on vinyl for the very first time as a 2LP-set with three previously unreleased bonus tracks!

• 25th Anniversary vinyl 2LP pressing from Omnivore Recordings
• Available on the format for the very first time
• Remastered by multi-Grammy award winner Michael Graves
• Featuring three previously unreleased bonus tracks

  1. Orange Crate Art
  2. Sail Away
  3. My Hobo Heart
  4. Wings of a Dove
  5. Palm Tree and Moon
  6. Summer in Monterey
  7. San Francisco
  8. Hold Back Time
  1. My Jeanine
  2. Movies Is Magic
  3. This Town Goes Down at Sunset
  4. Lullaby
  5. Rhapsody In Blue (Outtake)
  6. Our Love Is Here To Stay (Outtake)
  7. What A Wonderful World (Outtake)
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought