The Heads - Undersided: Deluxe Ed. (Vinyl 4LP + 2CD Box Set) * * *

Price $132.99
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
The Heads - Undersided: Deluxe Ed. (Vinyl 4LP + 2CD Box Set) * * *

The Heads - Undersided: Deluxe Ed. (Vinyl 4LP + 2CD Box Set) * * *

Price $132.99
Customers Also Viewed

Presenting a remastered, 20-year anniversary edition of The Heads' third album proper, the underrated gem in their canon that is Undersided! Originally released in 2002 on the Sweet Nothing label, Undersided was recorded in 2001 at WhiteHouse Studios in Weston Super Mare, with Martin Nichols engineering.

For this reissue, the original recordings were remastered for vinyl and CD by long time Heads collaborator Shawn Joseph. The resultant eight tracks are some of the best music the band have ever recorded, occurring after a bit of a hiatus following their 2000 US tour / Peel session (included in the boxset / on the 2CD version here). The band then regrouped and worked out the tracks for Undersided, relentlessly rehearsing for the recording.

This is a pounding sike-nightmare that shows The Heads at the peak of their powers. There's a flow throughout the album of melding psychedelic noise rock to battering rhythms and creating a bad trip for all listening – even the gentle soothe of "Energy" is enveloped by a white noise fury, and the intensity of some of the other tracks, like the terror inducing "Bedminster" or "False Heavy" (a tour worn riffmonger from 2000) and the Magnet-esque "Heavy Sea," showed the band as ferocious as any of the insurgent "stoner" genre bands of that time.

  1. Dissonaut (Remastered)
  2. Il Ratto, La Ram, Il Gallo ed Il Serpente (Remastered)
  3. Trilogy Part 3 (Remastered)
  4. Bedminster #1 (Remastered)
  5. False Heavy (Remastered)
  6. Vibrating Digit (Remastered)
  7. Energy (Remastered)
  8. Heavy Sea (Remastered)
  9. For Madmen Only
  10. Born To Go
  11. False Heavy (Peel Session)
  12. Fuego (Peel Session)
  13. You Took Me By Surprise (Peel Session)
  14. Neu 75 (Peel Session)
  15. Key Jam Short (Whitehouse out-take)
  16. Backwards (Whitehouse out-take)
  17. False Heavy (Band Demo)
  18. Vibrating Digit (Band Demo)
  19. Energy (Band Demo)
  20. Heavy Sea (Band Demo)
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought