Wayne Shorter - Night Dreamer: 75th Anniversary (Vinyl LP)

Price $21.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Wayne Shorter - Night Dreamer: 75th Anniversary (Vinyl LP)

Wayne Shorter - Night Dreamer: 75th Anniversary (Vinyl LP)

Price $21.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

Wayne Shorter Night Dreamer on LP

Remastered and Reissued As Part of the Blue Note 75th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue Campaign

With some musicians, it is obvious from the start that they are going to make a major impact on jazz. Wayne Shorter had only been with Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers for a short time when Miles Davis made him an offer to join his group, although he would not join until 1964. By then he had been with Blakey for four years and developed his own unique musical language and logic, both as a tenor-saxophonist and as a composer. 

Shortly before joining Davis, Shorter recorded his first Blue Note album, Night Dreamer, in a quintet also featuring Lee Morgan, McCoy Tyner and Elvin Jones. Listening to this brilliant set makes it obvious why Davis wanted Shorter. A very distinctive soloist, Shorter contributes five highly original pieces (including "Virgo" and "Black Nile") plus a version of "Oriental Folk Song." His playing does not fit into any particular style and his writing does not hint at any of his predecessors. Night Dreamer shows that by 1964, Wayne Shorter was a jazz master.

Lee Morgan (trumpet)
Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone)
McCoy Tyner (piano) 
Reggie Workman (bass) 
Elvin Jones (drums)

• Remastered and reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign 
• Vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was, to include 100 essential Blue Note albums 
• Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note titles 
• First run of vinyl to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package 
• Key to the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign is the creation of high quality audio at an affordable price 
• Blue Note will celebrate their iconic artists and the history of the label with various events, digital initiatives, vinyl campaigns and more

Wayne Shorter Night Dreamer Track Listing:

1.  Night Dreamer
2.  Oriental Folk Song
3.  Virgo
4.  Black Nile
5.  Charcoal Blues
6.  Armageddon

1. Night Dreamer
2. Oriental Folk Song
3. Virgo
4. Black Nile
5. Charcoal Blues
6. Armageddon

Related Videos
Attention To Detail: Creating an Audiophile Masterpiece With Blue Note Records’ Joe Harley
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought