FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Optical Disc > Leopold Stokowski - Complete Phase 4 Recordings (23CD Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Leopold Stokowski - Complete Phase 4 Recordings

(23CD Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: CDEC5047

Leopold Stokowski's complete Decca/Phase 4 recordings presented together for the first time as 23 disc box set marking the 40th anniversary of the legendary conductor's passing. Especially effective at projecting the Phase 4 experience were the recordings made by Stokowski. It was the perfect musical marriage; at the same time, Phase 4 wonderfully captured to the full his unique imagination. "More tone! More tone!" was a favorite admonition of the Maestro to his orchestras – though what he did to obtain that ‘Stokowski Sound' was only in part quantifiable: his brilliance as an orchestrator; strong and broad vibrato and free bowing from the strings; free breathing for the brass and woodwind; knife-edged precision of attack; and absolute perfection of ensemble. The rest was down to a telepathic communication of something less tangible that was surely down to the power of mesmerism. All of the recordings feature their original artwork and programming while a new essay by Stokowski life-long admirer/expert Jon Tolansky and a bonus Blu-ray audio documentary round out the essential package!



Related Articles
CD1 - Inspiration
CD2 - Scheherazade
CD3 - Tavlor På En Utställning
CD4 - Svansjön & Törnrosa
CD5 - Fyra Årstider
CD6 - Orkestermusik Ur Ringen
CD7 - Symfoni 5 E-moll Op 64
CD8 - Messias Utdr
CD9 - En Natt På Blåkulla / Eldfågeln
CD10 - Symfoni 9 D-moll Op 125
CD11 - Symphonie Fantastique
CD12 - Romeo & Julia / Boris Godunov / Symphonic Syntheses
CD13 - 1812 Konsertuvertyr / Polovtsiska Danser / Pastoral
CD14 - Symfoni 5 Ödessymfonin / Symfoni 8 Ofullbordade
CD15 - Havet / Daphnis & Chloe / Orchestral Set 2 / L'ascension
CD16 - Symfoni D-moll
C17&18 - Sixtieth Anniversary Concert
CD19 - Enigma-variationer Op 36
CD20 - Orkestertranskriptioner
CD21 - La Poeme De L'extase / Capriccio Espagnol
CD22 - Symfoni 7 A-dur Op 92
Blu-ray Audio - Documentary

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.