FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Optical Disc > David Honeyboy Edwards - Shake 'Em On Down (CD)
Click to Enlarge

David Honeyboy Edwards - Shake 'Em On Down


$11.99 - 60%
23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: CAP02010

David Honeyboy Edwards Shake 'Em On Down on CD

David "Honeyboy" Edwards was born June 28, 1915 in Shaw, MS, and passed away on August 29, 2011 at his home in Chicago, IL. Present for most of the seminal moments of the blues, Honeyboy was one of the last original acoustic Delta blues players and his life intertwined with almost every major blues legend, including Robert Johnson, Charlie Patton, Big Joe Williams, Rice "Sonny Boy Williamson" Miller, Howlin' Wolf, Peetie Wheatstraw, Sunnyland Slim, Lightnin' Hopkins, Big Walter, Little Walter, Magic Sam and Muddy Waters among many others.

Shake 'Em On Down is an excellent 1999 session recorded at Blue Heaven Studios in Salina, Kansas when Honeyboy was 84 years young. With Madison Slim (harmonica) and Jimmy D. Lane (guitar) in tow, Honeyboy and Co. revisit decades of the Delta blues with takes on "High Water Everywhere," "Drop Down Mama," "Monkey Face Woman," "Shake 'Em on Down," "Pony Blues," "Anna Lee," and "Bullfrog Blues."

"A succession of grizzled old blues men have passed through the Blue Heaven Studio doors and all without exception have proved worthy of audiophile treatment...Edwards, a magical and quite vigorous guitarist, is another of those who has the Mississippi Delta running through their octogenarian veins...sends out an unmistakably authentic message to all those younger pretenders like the Eric Bibbs and Keb Mos who can't really hope to match these earthy and tightly grained life experiences which inform his every chord." - Reuben Parry, Hi-Fi+

Related Articles

1. High Water Everywhere
2. Drop Down Mama
3. Monkey Face Woman
4. Shake 'Em On Down
5. Louise Louise Blues
6. Pony Blues
7. Anna Lee
8. Standing On The Corner
9. West Memphis Blues
10. Bald Headed Woman
11. Bullfrog Blues
12. Gambling Man
13. Take Me In Your Arms
14. Interview
15. Lord I Got To Go

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.