FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Optical Disc > Diana Krall - Girl in the Other Room (Hybrid SACD5.1)
Click to Enlarge

Diana Krall - Girl in the Other Room

(Hybrid SACD5.1)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: CVERSA22933

Eagerly awaited and controversial, this release marks a major change for Diana Krall in many ways. She's built a career on her excellent taste in all aspects of her career: her piano playing; her cool, controlled vocals; her exquisite sidemen (drummer Jeff Hamilton and bassist John Clayton are still here), arrangers, engineers, and producers; her beauty and fashion; and a song selection that always fit her encompassing style perfectly. Now that Elvis Costello has entered her life as husband and artistic collaborator she's taken a few chances. From the opening Mose Allison tune (and later on Chris Smither's ''Love Me Like A Man'') she's playing and singing far bluesier with more power. Her lyrical creations with Elvis definitely sound like his work in terms of both words and melody. There's a lot of artistic depth here that invites careful listening. For much of the album, the musical support comes from drummer Peter Erskine and bassist Christian McBride. The inventive and sympathetic guitar playing of Anthony Wilson is heard throughout a record that which also features drummer Terri Lynne Carrington and Neil Larson sitting in on Hammond B-3 for one cut. While none of her longtime admirers should be wary of this fine release, we expect that her developing artistry will convert many other casual listeners into fans.

 1. Stop This World
 2. The Girl In The Other Room
 3. Temptation
 4. Almost Blue
 5. I've Changed My Address
 6. Love Me Like A Man
 7. I'm Pulling Through
 8. Black Crow
 9. Narrow Daylight
 10. Abandoned Masquerade
 11. I'm Coming Through
 12. Departure Bay


Related Articles

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More