FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Optical Disc > Eva Cassidy - Nightbird (CD)
Click to Enlarge

Eva Cassidy Nightbird


23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: CBLIX10927

Eva Cassidy Nightbird on CD

Complete 20th Anniversary Blues Alley Collection featuring 12 Previously Unreleased Recordings & 8 Never-Before-Heard Songs!

Eva Cassidy, the late singer whose signature version of "Over the Rainbow" underscored the In Memoriam portion of the 2015 Emmy broadcast, is remembered in Nightbird – a two-CD set that affords everyone the opportunity to experience Eva's tour de force performance at the Blues Alley jazz club in Washington, D.C. on January 3, 1996. The Blues Alley performances were recorded for what was to become the only solo Eva Cassidy album released during her lifetime.

The original Live At Blues Alley album (first released locally in D.C. during the spring of 1996) only included 12 of the 31 songs recorded that night. 20 years later, the remastered Nightbird includes all 31 songs she performed that night, among them 12 previously unreleased recordings and 8 never-before-heard songs performed by the late singer. Eva's wide musical range is showcased in songs such as "Nightbird," "Blue Skies," "Son Of A Preacher Man," "Route 66," "Late In The Evening," "Baby I Love You" and "Caravan.

Compiling the 31 Blues Alley performances into one Nightbird album was a daunting task for Bill Straw, president of Eva's posthumous label, Blix Street Records: "I have had the privilege of compiling eight Eva Cassidy albums, beginning with Songbird. In each instance, the luxury of Eva's considerable catalogue, from various sources, served the basic premise that less is more. The challenge of an album containing 31 tracks is the polar opposite...would more be less? Fortunately, more turned out to be much more. The first listening to all 31 tracks in one sitting was an inspiring experience. Beginning at Capitol Records in the late 60's, I had heard out-takes from the best of the best...but had never before heard anything that approached the sheer consistent vocal excellence of these 31 one-take, all on one night, performances."

Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Blue Skies
2. Ain't Doin' Too Bad
3. Ain't No Sunshine
4. Fields Of Gold
5. Baby I Love You
6. Honeysuckle Rose
7. Route 66
8. Bridge Over Troubled Water
9. Band intro
10. Chain Of Fools
11. Fever
12. Autumn Leaves
13. Fine And Mellow
14. Cheek To Cheek
15. Don't Mean A Thing
16. Late In The Evening
17. Next Time You See Me
18. Waly Waly

1. Take Me To The River
2. Nightbird
3. People Get Ready
4. The Letter
5. Son Of A Preacher Man
6. Stormy Monday
7. Tall Trees In Georgia
8. Something's Got A Hold On Me
9. Time After Time
10. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
11. Welcome To The Club
12. Caravan
13. You've Changed
14. Wonderful World
15. Oh Had I A Golden Thread

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.