FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Optical Disc > John Lennon - Walls And Bridges (Japanese Import SHM-SACD)
Click to Enlarge

John Lennon - Walls And Bridges

(Japanese Import SHM-SACD)

$30.00 - 50%
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: CJPSHM2795

John Lennon Walls And Bridges on Limited Edition Japanese Import SHM-SACD    

Tired of all the aggravation and the messy 'Lost Weekend' lifestyle he found in Los Angeles after his separation from Yoko, John returned to New York in April 1974 with a strong determination to improve the quality of his life and lifestyle. In June he began work on his fifth studio album, Walls and Bridges, with a more professional plan. Instead of the party atmosphere, the recording sessions for Walls and Bridges were very structured and organized, devoid of booze and drugs. An environment in which John realized he truly creatively thrived.

It became John’s second LP to top the Billboard charts, its title based on the walls around him and others dear to him, and to the bridges burned and being rebuilt. The album includes "Whatever Gets You Thru the Night" a song recorded with Elton John that also became Lennon’s first solo record to top the Billboard Hot 100. It was, of course, a factor in propelling the album to the top spot.

Walls and Bridges took about eight weeks to record and there is a real sense of cohesion in the record. The tracks while never sounding ‘samey’ really do have a sense of coming from the same place, a feeling that John had not achieved in quite the same way since the album, Imagine. John’s pain is clear to hear on the album’s opening track, "Going Down On Love" and is played out on "Scared" and "Nobody Loves You (When You’re Down And Out)." But it is played out with such musicality that it is impossible not to be drawn into the beauty of this record. Both "What You Got" and "Bless You" were written for his wife Yoko.

"Surprise, Surprise (Sweet Bird Of Paradox)" is about John’s affections for assistant and mistress May Pang but it also refers to John’s “god awful loneliness.” "Old Dirt Road" was co-written with John’s long time pal, Harry Nilsson, who himself lived through the excesses of Lennon’s stay in California. It’s another wonderful song that is helped by Jesse Ed Davis’s country sounding guitar. John’s other big hit from Walls and Bridges is a classic, "#9 Dream," a luxurious production that again shows John’s brilliance with a melody. 

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as SACD. 

• 2-channel Single Layer SACD
• Two-channel SACD layer only, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes
• This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player
Related Articles
1.  Going Down on Love 
2.  What ever Gets You thru the Night 
3.  Old Dirt Road (Lennon, Harry Nilsson) 
4.  What You Got 
5.  Bless You 
6.  Scared 
7.  #9 Dream 
8.  Surprise, Surprise (Sweet Bird of Paradox) 
9.  Steel and Glass 
10. Beef Jerky 
11. Nobody Loves You (When You're Down and Out) 
12. Ya Ya  

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.