FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Optical Disc > Queen - The Miracle (Limited Edition Japanese Import SHM-SACD)
Click to Enlarge

Queen The Miracle

(Limited Edition Japanese Import SHM-SACD)

$20.00 - 33%
23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: CJPSHM9688

Queen The Miracle on Limited Edition Japanese Import SHM-SACD 

Prior to the sessions for their thirteenth album The MiracleQueen band members had spent 1987 apart, working upon individual projects. Also during this period the four men had experienced considerable personal turmoil in their private lives. The year apart would prove to be greatly beneficial as everyone came to the new sessions with renewed vigour and enthusiasm, and with an abundance of ideas. As usual, The Miracle would contain a diverse selection of songs both lyrically and musically, and take the band off at yet more unlikely and unexpected tangents. For the very first time on a Queen album all the songs were credited as being written by the band collectively, regardless of the actual author. 

This was, after all, during the period when the Queen members were pulling together extremely closely, and in enforced secrecy, in dealing with Freddie’s deteriorating illness. Indeed, there was the very real likelihood during these sessions that Freddie would not be around to complete the work. The four men closed ranks like never before to focus on the work ahead and let nothing deter them from their course.

The album commences in typically grandiose fashion, with the aptly named "Party," and segues into "Khashoggi’s Ship" about the infamous billionaire Adnan Khashoggi. These two guitar driven songs make a great pairing to open up the album. Next up is the song which would lend its name to the album. "The Miracle," with its meticulously crafted lyric, is a celebration of life’s triumphs and of some of the extraordinary wonders we all tend to take for granted. It is the song that Brian would later describe as one of Freddie’s best – “A small masterpiece in it’s own way.” 

"The Invisible Man," finds the band exploring yet another funk-based fast tempo musical tangent and would ultimately be issued as a single. The fast rhythm was also incorporated for the next song, and another single, "Breakthru." "Rain Must Fall," featuring Latin percussion and calypso rhythms, and "My Baby Does Me," with its bass-driven summer feel, are again untypical Queen songs, and initially penned by John and Freddie in their soul influenced mood.  

In stark contrast to the rather mellow dance material, the uncompromising "Scandal," comes next, written largely about the notorious British news press. Closing the album is the semi-autobiographical "Was It All Worth It." This heavy percussion and guitar based track, with completely over the top orchestrated middle section, is Queen very much back to their uncompromising bombastic rock roots, looking back at past achievements and experiences spanning two decades of touring the world and making music together. 

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as SACD. 

• 2-channel Single Layer SACD
• Two-channel SACD layer only, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes
• This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player
Read More Less
Related Articles
1.  Party
2.  Khashoggi's Ship
3.  The Miracle
4.  I Want It All
5.  The Invisible Man
6.  Breakthru
7.  Rain Must Fall
8.  Scandal
9.  My Baby Does Me
10. Was It All Worth It     

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.