FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Optical Disc > Shelly Manne And Bill Evans - Empathy (Hybrid SACD)
Click to Enlarge

Shelly Manne And Bill Evans - Empathy

(Hybrid SACD)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: CAPSA8497
Shelly Manne And Bill Evans Empathy on Hybrid SACD from Analogue Productions

Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound 

"This album came about through a fortuitous convergence of circumstances. Shelly Manne & His Men were appearing at New York's Village Vanguard, sharing the bill with the Bill Evans Trio. Getting Riverside's permission to let the pianist participate, Creed Taylor set up a session at Rudy Van Gelder's studio with Evans and Manne sharing top billing. Manne's bass player, Monty Budwig, made up the trio. 

"This was a busman's holiday for Evans, who was freed from the musical parameters he had set for his then-current trio. The result is that his playing seemed lighter, freer, and more relaxed than it had for a while. The album kicks off with a jaunty version of Irving Berlin's "The Washington Twist" from the unsuccessful Mr. President with Budwig sharing the honors with Evans as much as Manne. Manne spends most of his time driving Evans into more diminished and sharper playing than was usually Evans' wont. 

"Another relatively unfamiliar Berlin work, "Let's Go Back to the Waltz," gives full reign to Evans' lyricism. The longest tune on the set is an audacious, almost lampooned version of "With a Song in My Heart" with light chordal phrasing that pretty much characterized much of the tone coming from this session. Listening to these three, it's clear that everyone was having a good time and simply enjoying being relieved of their duties with their regular combos, even if for just one day." Analogue Productions / Dave Nathan, All Music 

"...these are all truly classic Verve titles that you simply don't want to miss...most importantly, the sound of these reissues is nothing short of astounding." - Danny Kaey, Positive Feedback Online - November/December 2011 

Bill Evans (piano)
Monty Budwig (bass)
Shelly Manne (drums)

Shelly Manne And Bill Evans Empathy Track Listing:

1.  The Washington Twist
2.  Danny Boy
3.  Let's Go Back To Te Waltz
4.  With A Song In My Heart
5.  Goodbye
6.  I Believe In You 
Related Articles
1. The Washington Twist 2. Danny Boy 3. Let's Go Back To Te Waltz 4. With A Song In My Heart 5. Goodbye 6. I Believe In You

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More