FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Contortions - Buy (180g Colored Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Contortions - Buy

(180g Colored Vinyl LP)

$12.00 - 30%

Contortions - Buy

(180g Colored Vinyl LP)

$27.99 $39.99 $12.00 - 30%
Availability:Out Of Stock
Add to Cart
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDC29934

Contortions Buy on Limited Edition Colored 180g LP + Download

Fully Remastered with 2 Bonus Tracks!

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

Come contort yourself...the New York No Wave classic from the Contortions is back! It’s just over 35 years since James Chance first assaulted turntables with the juddering jazz punk fusion that permeate the tracks immortalized on Buy. Under the moniker Contortions, explosive saxophonist James Chance aka James White, alongside several other noted New York art scene luminaries, spearheaded a sub-genre dubbed No Wave; a deconstructionist approach to rock ‘n’ roll that mirrored New York's degradation and dissonance through avant garde compositions and articulated noise, considered by many to be the missing link between modern jazz and punk.

Buy is a bittersweet pill of funk disco nihilism, with tracks such as "Contort Yourself," "I Don’t Want To Be Happy" and "Roving Eye" serving as testaments to how jagged, confrontational and arresting a genuinely infectious groove can be. It’s no surprise Buy’s influence is evident everywhere from Sonic Youth through to acid jazz. So now, 35 years later, Futurismo and James Chance are proud to present the redux version of this influential LP. 

Fully remastered and featuring two bonus tracks recorded at a brief reformation, this LP comes on limited edition colored 180g vinyl with free download. The record is encased in a mirror and neon gatefold sleeve containing a new large 12 page booklet featuring rare photography by the late great Anya Phillips and newly written text by the legendary James Chance himself. Get hip, get contorted, don’t think just Buy.

Contortions Buy Track Listing:

1.  Designed To Kill
2.  My Infatuation
3.  I Don’t Want To Be Happy
4.  Anestetic
5.  Contort Yourself
6.  Throw Me Away
7.  Roving Eye
8.  Twice Removed
9.  Bedroom Athlete
10. Terminal City
11. Incorrigible


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Designed To Kill
2. My Infatuation
3. I Don’t Want To Be Happy
4. Anestetic
5. Contort Yourself
6. Throw Me Away
7. Roving Eye
8. Twice Removed
9. Bedroom Athlete
10. Terminal City
11. Incorrigible

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More