FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > 2:54 - 2:54 (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

2:54 - 2:54

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDT7118
2:54 2:54 on LP

Sister duo 2:54, consisting of Colette and Hannah Thurlow, have established themselves as one of 2012's most important breakthrough UK bands. Occupying a low-lit, vivid space, they unite a distinct concoction of ideas and influences that taps a rock and punk lineage notoriously anchored by the likes of Queens of the Stone Age and Kyuss. However, their sound neatly neighbors the darker, atmospheric reaches of R&B's finest, as well as timeless walls of sound.

The fact 2:54 have picked up fans from all the above worlds and more is testament not only to their sophisticated and nuanced tastes, but just how compelling a proposition the music they make is. Yet it's only now, with this, their first full-length offering that the power of what they do will be revealed for all to see.

Recorded mostly by Mercury-winning producer Rob Ellis (PJ Harvey etc), and mixed by the legendary Alan Moulder (Smashing Pumpkins, Nine In Nails etc), their debut album collects together a cohesive and captivating selection of highlights from their already burgeoning catalog. The 10-songs that together make up 2:54 are ripe with danger and beauty. This is a record that thrums with life, signaled immediately with the gale-force opener, "Revolving," a real bittersweet blizzard.

From then on the sisters Thurlow proceed to mine their own distinctive brand of haunted, freaked grooves and cloud-bursting melody, channeling love, loss and longing to spellbinding effect. This is an album with truly no filler. First spin will leave the propulsive, woozy thrust of "Easy Undercover's" refrains ringing in heads, as will the dueling guitars and surging, urgent cry of "Sugar's" dance floor rhythms. The smouldering solemnity of "Circuitry," the delicate, scorched beauty of "Watcher" and the album closer "Creeping" are realized here in magnificent and malevolent new form that few will be prepared for.

Over the course of its 10-tracks it becomes clear that this is a rarefied, captivating affair, a beautifully sustained exercise in mood and tension that almost feels in a league and scene all its own. It’s a bewitching snapshot of 2:54 thus far and also a glimpse of the heady future that awaits them.

2:54 2:54 Track Listing:

1.  Revolving
2.  You're Early
3.  Easy Undercover
4.  A Salute
5.  Scarlet
6.  Sugar
7.  Circuitry
8.  Watcher
9.  Ride
10. Creeping
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Revolving
2. You're Early
3. Easy Undercover
4. A Salute
5. Scarlet
6. Sugar
7. Circuitry
8. Watcher
9. Ride
10. Creeping

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.