FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > 4th Coming - Strange Things: The Complete Works 1970-1974 (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

4th Coming - Strange Things: The Complete Works 1970-1974

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDF12415

4th Coming Strange Things 1970-1974 on 2LP + Download

The Complete Works!

Eccentric soul and funk recordings from an unlikely crew of Los Angeles musical misfits – including psych-rock cult figure John Greek (Reachin' Arcesia, Beautiful Daze) and members of the Watts 103rd St. Rhythm Band. They had a catchy, but inappropriate name: there is nothing forthcoming about Los Angeles' 4th Coming, unless one counts a copious amount of releases – on rare 7" singles – that didn't sell farther than vocalist/principal Henry "Hank" Porter's Datsun 1200 could take him.

When 4th Coming records surfaced in the '90s, they were often disregarded as novelty. And some of their records were so rare that it took until the late ‘00s for them to reemerge, after the sinking of their initial pressing runs. Assembling a complete set of 4th Coming recordings was nearly impossible, until the issue of this, the lost 4th Coming album.

At its core, the 4th Coming was a songwriting duo – Porter and Jechonias "Jack" S. Williams – and a rotating cast of musicians – including members of lauded LA funk ensemble the Watts 103rd St. Rhythm Band - that Williams assembled at Artist Recording Studio to realize the pair's ideas. They existed only from the latter half of 1969 until 1974; during that time they issued eight singles as 4th Coming and one as Impact! on Al Firth's Alpha imprint.

And now, Strange Things, a thrilling listen, a mysterious trove of recordings made possible by an open minded and well-funded indie impresario, which document a very real and very weird Los Angeles of the past. It's a city we'll never know again, and one that might never again produce an ensemble like the 4th Coming. If Firth's faith only rolled snake-eyes in terms of commercial success, in terms of documenting Los Angeles' vibrant soul and funk underground, he rolled boxcars.

This, the album Williams and Firth always hoped would bring them real success, now sees its complete release and allows us to ponder the might-have and the would-have beens – had a 4th Coming album come together in the mid-‘70s!

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. We Got Love
2. Take Time
3. Oh Love
4. Heaven & Earth
5. Come On
6. Don't Let Him Take Away Your Mind
7. Strange Things
8. You're My Precious Someone
9. The Dead Don't Die Alive
10. Don't Let Him Take Away Your Mind (Impact Version)
11. Why Don't You Trust In Me
12. Waterloo at Watergate
13. Come to the Feast
14. Cruising Central Ave.
15. You Don't Stand A Chance (Part 1)
16. You Don't Stand A Chance (Part 2)
17. The Dead Don't Die Alive (Instrumental)
18. Waterloo at Watergate (Instrumental)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.