FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Airto - Free (180g Import Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Airto - Free

(180g Import Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LSPC5135

At a time when mainstream music was being amalgamated with intellectual, experiment sounds, harmonies and rhythms to create underground fusion, astute readers of the DownBeat magazine observed in 1972 that drummers were creating their own category: Percussion. Following Mahavishnu's electrifying, magical sound, the demonic hubble-bubble of Bitches Brew, and also Santana's lengthy improvised Latin raves, drumming was taken to new heights.

For his first big project with the noncommittal yet promising title Free, the drummer and percussionist Airto Moreira gathered together several innovative jazz musicians - first and foremost Chick Corea. Chick steps into the limelight in "Return To Forever," with its mystical, genial introductory melody, which plants itself deep down in the convolutions of the brain, rather like a siren's fusion song.

Moreira is totally concentrated on his own thing in "Free," an awesome improvisation with innumerable rhythms and both brilliant and subdued sound-coloring whereby time is tautened and then stretched again and again. Alongside this closely-knit performance we find intense pieces such as "Flora's Song," a light and airy Latin number ("Lucky Southern"), and a bebop Brazilian mood ("Creek"). This is music created by free thinkers who are true masters of their craft.

Airto Moreira (percusion, flute, vocals)
Chick Corea (electric piano)
Jay Berliner / George Benson (guitar)
Stan Clarke (bass)
Joe Farrell (flute)
Flora Purim (vocals)


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Return to Forever
  2. Flora's Song
  3. Free
  4. Lucky Southern
  5. Creek (Arroio)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.