FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Albert Collins and the Icebreakers - At Onkel PO's, Carnegie Hall, Hamburg 1980 (180g Vinyl 3LP)
Click to Enlarge

Albert Collins and the Icebreakers - At Onkel PO's, Carnegie Hall, Hamburg 1980

(180g Vinyl 3LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC80401

The music of Albert Collins has always been especially 'cool' so it's fitting that The Icebreakers joined him for this thrilling performance on the tiny stage of Onkel Pö's Carnegie Hall in Hamburg, Germany in 1980. This recording from Onkel Pö really covers the entire concert; including the 20-minute long Icebreakers opener, led by saxophonist A.C. Reed and percussionist Casey Jones. Only as of "Listen Here" is Collins master of the house, scat-singing and playing the guitar in parallel runs. The first part of the concert ends after about one hour and the second part starts again with four intro-pieces, showcasing Reed and again featuring, as at the very beginning of the evening, classics such as "Stand By Me," before Collins himself takes over once more (with "Mustang Sally"). A very independent and original blues-master can be experienced once more on this recording. The exceptionally atmospheric Onkel Pö with its passionate Hamburg audience turns the encounter, even after three decades, into a true event!

Albert Collins - guitar & vocals
A. C. Reed - tenor sax & vocals
Jackson Marvin - guitar
Johnny B. Gayden - bass
Casey Jones - drums & vocals

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Sweet Home Chicago
  2. Dock Of The Bay
  3. Mama, Talk To Your Daughter
  4. Howling For My Darling
  5. Announcement I
  6. Listen Here
  7. I Got A Mind To Travel
  8. Announcement III
  9. Frosty
  10. Cold, Cold Feeling
  11. Ice Pick
  12. Stand By Me
  13. Mojo Working
  14. Announcement III
  15. I'm Fed Up With This Music
  16. She's Fine
  17. Announcement IV
  18. Mustang Sally
  19. Announcement V
  20. Things I Used To Do
  21. Caledonia
  22. Master Charge
  23. Conversations With Collins
  24. Cold Cuts

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.