FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Alex Chilton - A Man Called Destruction (Colored Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Alex Chilton - A Man Called Destruction

(Colored Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDC13425

1995 Solo Gem Available on Vinyl for the First Time Complete with 7 Bonus Tracks!

As lead singer of The Box Tops and co-founder of Big Star, Alex Chilton already had a place in rock history. But he was never one to rest on his laurels. An enormous music fan himself, he consistently reinvented his own sound throughout his career, until his death in 2010. Chilton returned to Memphis' legendary Ardent Studios and a reconstituted Ardent label to record A Man Called Destruction, a classic mix of originals and covers, this time with a full-horn section. Featuring an eclectic mixture of garage rock, jazz and R&B, the 1995 release was well received by fans and critics alike.

The Orlando Sentinel observed: "Plenty of bands attempt, however feebly, to reproduce Big Star's melancholic power-pop. But nobody else would dare try to approximate the brilliant, offhand weirdness and subtle irony of Chilton's later solo work. Teenage Fan Club might be able to imitate Big Star's guitar sound on ‘September Gurls,' but they couldn't transmogrify ‘Volare' the way Chilton did on 1987's High Priest. Destruction is very much in the tradition of High Priest – a peculiar mélange of deliriously cheesy pop."

Destruction is being reissued via Omnivore Recordings complete with seven previously unissued tracks from the original sessions and new liner notes from journalist and author Bob Mehr (Trouble Boys: The True Story Of The Replacements). To make this reintroduction even more special, the title is making its vinyl debut. The first pressing will be on colored double album, which includes all of the bonus tracks, a download card, and Mehr's essay in the gatefold sleeve. With the renewed interest and appreciation for his work in Big Star, it is the perfect time for Chilton's solo work to get the same due. It is time for a reintroduction of A Man Called Destruction.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Sick And Tired
  2. Devil Girl
  3. Lies
  4. It's Your Funeral
  5. What's Your Sign Girl
  6. Il Ribelle
  7. You Don't Have To Go
  8. Boplexity
  9. New Girl In School
  10. You're Lookin' Good
  11. Don't Know Anymore
  1. Don't Stop
  2. Devil Girl (bonus track)
  3. Don't Know Anymore (bonus track)
  4. Give It To Me Baby (bonus track)
  5. You're My Favorite (bonus track)
  6. But I Do (bonus track)
  7. Please Pass Me My Walkin' Shoes (bonus track)
  8. Why Should I Care/It's Your Funeral (bonus track)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.