FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Andrea Gibson - Hey Galaxy (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Andrea Gibson - Hey Galaxy

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDG64399

Hey Galaxy was created in the midst of another project as a result of the current political upheaval in the U.S. Andrea Gibson was working on an album entirely about love, accompanied by an orchestra, but after the 2016 presidential election she felt moved to put forth a more social justice-oriented project. "There's a quote that says, ‘Art should comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable.' I wanted to do that. I wanted to make something political and human and gutsy in its revolt. Something beautiful in its sweetness and rage and vulnerability. Something loud and tender at the same time." Hey Galaxy does just that. The 16 poems tell the story of our times. Whether it's "Orlando," which brutally relives the massacre at at LGBTQ nightclub and Andrea's own struggles with coming out, or "A Letter to White Queers" which combats white privilege during the rise of the Black Lives Matter Movement, Gibson's poems awaken us with their urgency, honesty, and their lyrical meld of grit and beauty.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Your Life
  2. Radio (feat. Jesse Thomas)
  3. Orlando
  4. Angels Of The Get-Through
  5. Boomerang Valentine
  6. Letter To White Queers
  7. Orbit
  8. Elbows
  1. Photoshopping My Sister's Mugshot
  2. About The Weather
  3. Give Her
  4. Ode To The Public Panic Attack
  5. The Day You Died Because You Wanted To
  6. Good Light
  7. To The Men Catcalling My Girlfriend While I'm Walking Beside Her (Live)
  8. Fight for Love (Live)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.