FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Andrew Combs - Canyons of my Mind (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Andrew Combs - Canyons of my Mind

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDC15417

Canyons Of My Mind is the New West Records debut from Andrew Combs. The 11-song set was co-produced by Skylar Wilson (Justin Townes Earle, Caitlin Rose) and Jordan Lehning (Rodney Crowell, Caitlin Rose) and recorded at Battle Tapes Studio in East Nashville, TN. A Dallas native now living near the same Nashville airport immortalized in the opening sequence of Robert Altman's country music odyssey, Combs is a singer, songwriter, guitarist, and heir to that 1975 film's idea of the Nashville troubadour as a kind of musical monk.

As a songwriter, Combs relies on meditative restraint rather than showy insistence to paint his canvases, a technique commensurate with his idea of nature as an overflowing spiritual wellspring. Combs refines the vulnerable vagabond persona he mastered on 2015's All These Dreams while pushing it beyond those boundaries, into a more pastoral realm aligned with artists like Nick Drake and Tim Buckley. The idea of the artist's creative life as an ecosystem - one just as in need of cultivation and care as our own imperiled world - informs much of Canyons Of My Mind.

"Canyons of my Mind is a collection of songs, all put together, that embodies the idea of a young man growing older," says Combs. "The album consists of the customary songs about lost love and travel, but also hits on more mature issues, such as environmental awareness, spirituality, mental illness, and political exploitation. Taking on a more introspective and controlling role in the writing and recording process, I dug deep inside my own heart and mind to create what I think is a good illustration of a man becoming more comfortable in his own skin."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Heart of Wonder
  2. Sleepwalker
  3. Dirty Rain
  4. Hazel
  5. Rose Colored Blues
  6. Better Way
  7. Lauralee
  8. Blood Hunters
  9. Silk Flowers
  10. Bourgeois King
  11. What It Means To You

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.