FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Bert Jansch - Living in the Shadows Part 2: On the Edge of a Dream (Vinyl 4LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Bert Jansch - Living in the Shadows Part 2: On the Edge of a Dream

(Vinyl 4LP Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDJ01563

Following on from Earth's definitive collection of Bert Jansch's 1990s works Living In The Shadows Part 2: On The Edge Of A Dream picks up from where it left off, bringing together Jansch's final recordings, made between 2000 and 2006. This remarkable anthology documents some of Jansch's finest work, and a man at the top of his game, some forty years after his first release.

From the brooding resonance of "Crimson Moon" (where Jansch is joined by Johnny Marr, Bernard Butler and Johnny "Guitar" Hodge, as well as son Adam Jansch and Bert's wife Loren Jansch) to the intimacy of "Edge Of A Dream" (Bernard Butler, Hope Sandoval, Dave Swarbrick, Ralph McTell, Johnny "Guitar" Hodge, Paul Wassif, Adam Jansch and Loren Jansch) to the wondrous new folk / trad folk harmony of "Black Swan" (Beth Orton, Devendra Banhart, Kevin Barker, Helena Espvall, Paul Wassif), these seemingly very different albums all speak of one thing: Bert's natural talent for turning out extraordinary music, regardless of genre.

Disc four, The Setting Of The Sun, takes in more demos and unreleased material, with guest appearances from Gordon Giltrap and Johnny Marr adding additional delight for fans old and new. These peeks into Jansch's recording process are nothing if not fascinating, with his home studio lending itself perfectly to any recording fancy he might arrive at. Like Part 1, this deluxe case-bound set exhibits the sublime attention to detail that has become Earth Recordings' calling card. Liner notes come courtesy of colleague Bernard Butler and Bert's son Adam, while a comprehensive listening guide (by esteemed journalist, Dave Henderson) is also included.

• 4LP casebound book-back box set alongside an additional disc of demos and unreleased material
• Both studio albums and original tape transfers remastered by Brian Pyle
• Comes with high-quality download code

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Caledonia
  2. Going Home
  3. Crimson Moon
  4. Downunder
  5. October Song
  6. Looking for Love
  7. Fool's Mate
  8. The River Bank
  9. Omie Wise
  10. My Donald
  11. Neptune's Daughter
  12. Singing the Blues
  13. On the Edge of a Dream
  14. All This Remains
  15. What is On Your Mind
  16. Sweet Death
  17. I Cannot Keep From Crying
  18. La Luna
  19. Gypsy Dave
  20. Walking This Road
  21. The Quiet Joys of Brotherhood
  22. Black Cat Blues
  23. Bright Sunny Morning
  24. The Black Swan
  25. High Days
  26. When the Sun Comes Up
  27. Katie Cruel
  28. My Pocket's Empty
  29. Watch the Stars
  30. A Woman Like You
  31. The Old Triangle
  32. Bring Your Religion
  33. Texas Cowboy Blues
  34. Magdalina's Dance
  35. Hey Pretty Girl

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.