FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Bo Diddley - Road Runner (180g Import Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Bo Diddley - Road Runner

(180g Import Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LID70688

This collector's reissue includes one of the lesser-known LPs Bo Diddley recorded for Chess' subsidiary, Checker Records. Most of the material on Road Runner was rushed out in half-finished form, in order to get an album out that cashed in on the "twist" craze of early 1962. The material has also appeared, with different cover art, as Bo Diddley Is a Twister.

Opening track, "Detour," came out of a 1961 session featuring Peggy "Lady Bo" Jones that also produced the rather perfunctory reading of Willie Dixon's "My Babe." In addition, the record contains some earlier instrumental material such as "Shank" and "The Twister" (both recorded in late 1960 at Diddley's home studio, in Washington, D.C.), a smoking reading of the soulful Diddley original "Here ‘Tis," as well as the classics "Road Runner," "Hey!, Bo Diddley" and "Who Do You Love?".

Between hypnotic and rhythmic guitar lines and swaggering vocals, these songs capture a young Bo Diddley at his raw and primal best, while confirming that even at the onset of his career he didn't sound like anyone else in rock & roll. In addition to the original masterpiece, this Vinyl Lovers remastered reissue contains 2 bonus tracks from the same period.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Detour
  2. She's Alright
  3. Doin' The Jaguar
  4. Who Do You Love?
  5. Shank
  6. Road Runner
  7. My Babe
  8. Oh Yeah (Aka Oh Yes)
  9. The Twister
  10. Hey, Bo Diddley
  11. Hush Your Mouth
  12. Bo Diddley
  13. I'm Looking For A Woman
  14. Here ‘Tis
  15. I Know
  16. All Together

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.