FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Carola Baer - The Story of Valerie (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Carola Baer - The Story of Valerie

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDB100001

The discovery of a cassette of Carola Baer's early 90s private home recordings was like finding a needle in a haystack. Made as a one-off mixtape of newly recorded songs, and given to a long-since forgotten recipient, this cassette was found in 2017 at a Goodwill "bins" location in Portland, OR. These chaotic, by-the-pound thrift stores contain 1000's of unsorted items in constant flux, which are only available for the public to buy for a limited time before they are discarded. The prospect that this obscure relic would be rescued from its untimely fate is nothing short of a miracle. As this tape was the only one in existence, with no back up versions of many of the songs, it's more than likely that this music would have been lost forever.

The Story of Valerie is made up of songs culled from that cassette, with a few additional tracks from the time, and is the first time Baer's solo material has been heard by the public. The intense emotion of the music is brought upon by the primary themes of the album: the cruelty of humanity, isolated life as a British immigrant in the US, and the pain of doomed relationships. Despite being inspired by classic 4AD acts like Dead Can Dance and Cocteau Twins, Baer's home recordings have a sound and style that is uniquely her own. Many of the tracks feel like musical exorcisms, with Baer's spine tingling voice soaring above minimal arrangements for Yamaha DX-7 and Casio CZ-101 synthesizers. Like finding a stranger's diary, the listener is granted access to music that is emotionally raw and deeply personal.

• All songs recorded, composed and performed by Carola Baer between 1990 and 1991 in San Francisco, CA
• Mastering by Timothy Stollenwerk at Stereophonic Mastering and Brandon Hocura
• Layout by Tony Remple & Lettering by Natalie Anne Howard

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Maker of Me
  2. Golden Boy
  3. Save Me
  4. We Already Feel
  5. Springtime
  6. Doors Talk
  7. Solemn Cattle
  8. Nothing Left To Say
  9. See The Lights Again
  10. Dreams
  11. On Top of the Mountain

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.