FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Carolina Story - Lay Your Head Down (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Carolina Story - Lay Your Head Down

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC03335

Lay Your Head Down is the debut album from the married duo Carolina Story (Ben and Emily Roberts), a mature, 12-song masterpiece that captures two people's moving, relatable journey from childhood to parenthood, independence to partnership, and despondency to hope. Produced by Nick Autry and recorded in Nashville at Sound Stage Studios, it's a stunning portrait of lovers and friends.

The title track opens the album. Lush strings and winsome harmonica cushion the song's lyrics that convey yearning and hurt. Jaunty but wise, the melody and message of "Gold" follow. Over classic harmonica and thick electric guitar, the pair point out that the high pressure created by tough times actually creates something incomparably precious. With Ben and Emily's gorgeous vocals far out front, "We Were Young Once Too" bemoans the way innocence falls away even as it appreciates the wisdom age brings. Stripped down and vulnerable with the couple's voices over plaintive acoustic guitar and haunting background instrumentation, "Set in Stone" explores the secrets that lurk in every relationship, even as deep love is honestly claimed and professed.

Ben's favorite song on the album, "My Feet Keep Moving Still," is also the oldest. Tender and sad, the song captures the frustration of feeling stuck, but carrying on anyway. Nostalgic "When I Was Just a Boy" tips a hat to the nuggets of truth parents impart. "Your Children's Children" immortalizes the couple's own advice to their own babies. Beautiful "Lonely without You" encapsulates passion and longing, while timeless "Rich Man" unpacks the choice between material comforts and love. Closer "Let Me Rock, Let Me Roll" is a standout. One of the songs closest to Emily's heart, the track reiterates commitment to one another and to the music.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Lay Your Head Down
  2. Gold
  3. We Were Young Once Too
  4. You Who Makes The Storm Break
  5. Set In Stone
  6. Rich Man
  7. Lonely Without You
  8. Your Children's Children
  9. My Feet Keep Moving Still
  10. When I Was A Boy
  11. When Will I See You Again
  12. Let Me Rock, Let Me Roll

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More