FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Chuck Berry - The Great Twenty-Eight: Super Deluxe (5LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Chuck Berry - The Great Twenty-Eight: Super Deluxe

(5LP Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LDB28325

Beloved 1982 Compilation Augmented with 30 Bonus Tracks including More Hits, Rarities, B-Sides, Live Material and Christmas Tunes!

Late, great rock 'n' roll innovator Chuck Berry - who passed away at the age of 90 on March 18, 2017 - is memorialized with The Great Twenty-Eight: Super Deluxe Edition, a lavishly expanded new colored 5 disc box set version of his definitive 1982 compilation. Housed in a textured box, the original 2LP compilation is augmented by two additional albums and an EP. More Great Chuck Berry features 14 further hits, rarities and b-sides while the rare 1963 live release, Oh Yeah! Live In Detroit, makes its vinyl debut. The collection is rounded out by the newly-created 10" EP, Berry Christmas, featuring four of his festive songs including "Run Rudolph Run," "Merry Christmas Baby," "Christmas" and "Spending Christmas."

The super deluxe edition also includes a handsome 12" x 12" book, with an introductory essay by Keith Richards and a new essay by bestselling author and SiriusXM host Alan Light, to complement Michael Lydon's liner notes from the original version of the retrospective. There are also reminiscences from DJ Lee Alan, plus Berry's complete US single, album and EP discographies, reproductions of Berry's original LP cover art and rarely-seen photographs.

After its 1982 release, The Great Twenty-Eight became the most widely-appreciated of the countless compilations of Berry's work, so much so that it was No. 21 on Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums of All Time" list. "When The Great Twenty-Eight was released in 1982," writes Light in his new notes, "it was immediately recognised as one of the essential albums in rock 'n' roll history."

Enter this edition of The Great Twenty-Eight, with 30 more Chuck Berry recordings – the Great Fifty-Eight, as it were – fleshing out the story of rock 'n' roll's poet laureate while also demonstrating, through the addition of a riveting live album from 1963, his power as a stage performer...the opportunity to spotlight additional facets of his music is the greatest contribution to his history that this collection offers.

• Super Deluxe Edition colored 5 disc box set
• LP1&2: Original 28-song, 2LP set from 1982
• LP3: More Great Chuck Berry featuring 14 more hits, rarities and B-sides
• LP4: Oh Yeah! Live In Detroit recorded at the Walled Lake Casino on October 25 & 26, 1963 (first time on vinyl)
• Bonus Berry Christmas EP
• 12 x 12 book featuring reproductions of Chuck's original LP graphics, images from the rare Chess EP series, and other photographs and memorabilia from the Chess archives, as well as a complete LP and singles discography
• Book also contains a new essay by Alan Light & the original liner notes by Michael Lydon

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
LP1 - Original 1982 Compilation
  1. Maybellene
  2. Thirty Days
  3. You Can't Catch Me
  4. Too Much Monkey Business
  5. Browned-Eyed Handsome Man
  6. Roll Over Beethoven
  7. Havana Moon
  8. School Days
  9. Rock And Roll Music
  10. Oh Baby Doll
  11. Reelin' And Rockin'
  12. Sweet Little Sixteen
  13. Johnny B. Goode
  14. Around And Around
LP2 - Original 1982 Compilation
  1. Carol
  2. Beautiful Delilah
  3. Memphis
  4. Sweet Little Rock And Roller
  5. Little Queenie
  6. Almost Grown
  7. Back In The USA
  8. Let It Rock
  9. Bye Bye Johnny
  10. I'm Talking About You
  11. Come On
  12. Nadine
  13. No Particular Place To Go
  14. I Want To Be Your Driver
LP3 - More Great Chuck Berry
  1. Wee Wee Hours
  2. No Money Down
  3. Drifting Heart
  4. La Jaunda (Español)
  5. Blue Feeling
  6. Vacation Time
  7. Joe Joe Gun
  8. Too Pooped To Pop "Casey"
  9. Our Little Rendezvous
  10. You Never Can Tell
  11. Promised Land
  12. Little Marie
  13. Dear Dad
  14. My Ding-A-Ling (live single version)
LP4 - Oh Yeah! Live In Detroit 
  1. Guitar Boogie
  2. Let It Rock
  3. Almost Grown
  4. Chuck Berry Dialogue 1
  5. Too Much Monkey Business*
  6. Johnny B. Goode
  7. Introduction / Instrumental
  8. Sweet Little Sixteen
  9. Wee Wee Hours
  10. Chuck Berry Dialogue 2
  11. Maybellene
  12. Medley: Goodnite Sweetheart Goodnite/Johnny B. Goode/Let It Rock/School Day
Berry Christmas EP
  1. Run Rudolph Run
  2. Merry Christmas Baby
  3. Spending Christmas (first time on vinyl)
  4. Christmas

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.