FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Curtis Mayfield - Roots (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Curtis Mayfield - Roots

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDM04212

Released in 1971, Roots is Curtis Mayfield's second solo album after enjoying considerable success with The Impressions. Lavishly produced, its epic funk-driven orchestral sound made it one of the most progressive soul albums of its era. Consolidating the success of his debut Curtis - itself a benchmark album at the time - Roots marked a further stage in Curtis' mastery of studio techniques and meaningful songwriting, particularly in his sophisticated political statements. Opening with the hit single "Get Down" - a hard-hitting slab of driving funk-rock - the album includes three of Curtis' finest inspirational songs in "We Got To Have Peace," "Beautiful Brother Of Mine" (both hit singles) and "Keep On Keeping On," as well as the impassioned blues of "Now You're Gone."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Get Down
  2. Keep On Keeping On
  3. Underground
  4. We Got To Have Peace
  5. Beautiful Brother Of Mine
  6. Now You're Gone
  7. Love To Keep You In My Mind

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.