FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Delaney and Bonnie and Friends - Motel Shot: Expanded Edition (ROG) (Numbered 180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Delaney and Bonnie and Friends - Motel Shot: Expanded Edition (ROG)

(Numbered 180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDD41253

Though they never achieved the popular success enjoyed by some of their peers, Delaney & Bonnie Bramlett spearheaded the roots-rock revolution of the late ‘60s and early ‘70s along with The Allman Brothers and The Band, turning away from the exoticism of psychedelia towards music "rooted" in blues, country, and soul. Witness the fact that the "And Friends" that played with the pair included Eric Clapton, George Harrison, Leon Russell, Dave Mason and Bobby Whitlock...out of Delaney and Bonnie's various aggregations arose Derek and the Dominoes and Joe Cocker's band for the legendary Mad Dogs and Englishmen tour.

And for 1971's Motel Shot, the duo's fourth studio album and their third for Atco/Atlantic, the circle of "friends" included Cocker, Whitlock, and Mason, plus appearances by Duane Allman, Gram Parsons, and John Hartford among others. But for the most part, this is a largely acoustic, charmingly informal affair dipped in gospel and dominated by the Bramletts and Whitlock; the Motel Shot title refers to informal, after hours jam sessions on the road. But there's a whole lot more to the story (and to this release). The project began not in a hotel room but in the living room of engineer Bruce Botnick, with November 1970 sessions as a prospective release for Elektra Records.

After Delaney had a falling out with label head Jac Holzman, the project moved to Atco, who put the "band" into a proper studio to re-record much of the material. Those later sessions comprise the original album, but after hours of tape research, the "living room" sessions were uncovered which yielded the eight unreleased tracks included on this deluxe 180g 2LP ROG edition - available on wax for the first time. The ROG pressing also comes with unique and alternate cover art originally only issued in France.

• First time reissued on vinyl in the US since its original release on Atco Records in 1971
• Pressed as 180g 2LP-set at Record Industry in the Netherlands with gatefold tip-on Stoughton sleeve
• Lacquers cut at Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis
• This expanded ROG edition will include an additional LP of acoustic outtakes from the sessions, recorded in hotel rooms while the band was on tour. This bonus material has never been issued on vinyl
• The ROG edition comes with unique and alternate cover art originally only issued in France
• Each 2LP set will be individually numbered

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Where the Soul Never Dies (Traditional)
  2. Will the Circle Be Unbroken (A.P. Carter)
  3. Rock of Ages (Traditional)
  4. Long Road Ahead (Delaney Bramlett-Bonnie Bramlett-Carl Radle)
  5. Faded Love (Bob Willis -Johnnie Willis)
  6. Talkin' About Jesus (Traditional)
  7. Come On In My Kitchen (Woody Payne-Robert Johnson)
  8. Don't Deceive Me (Please Don't Go) (Chuck Willis)
  9. Never Ending Song of Love (Delaney Bramlett)
  10. Sing My Way Home (Delaney Bramlett)
  11. Going Down the Road Feeling Bad (Traditional arranged by Delaney Bramlett)
  12. Lonesome and A Long Way From Home (Delaney Bramlett-Bonnie Bramlett-Leon Russell)
  1. I've Told You For the Last Time (Eric Clapton)
  2. Long Road Ahead (alternate take) (Delaney Bramlett-Bonnie Bramlett-Carl Radle)
  3. Gift of Love (Delaney Bramlett-Mac Davis)
  4. Come On In My Kitchen (alternate take) (Woody Payne-Robert Johnson)
  5. Blues (Delaney Bramlett)
  6. Lonesome and A Long Way From Home (alternate take) (Delaney Bramlett-Bonnie Bramlett-Leon Russell)
  7. What A Friend We Have in Jesus (Joseph M. Scriven)
  8. Farther Along (J.R. Baxter)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.