FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Delroy Wilson - Dub Plate Style (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Delroy Wilson - Dub Plate Style

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDW92726

Delroy Wilson was one of the truly great voices of Jamaican music. He started recording in the mid-60s and continued right up to his untimely death in 1995. The tracks on Dub Plate Style were originally released on an album called 20 Golden Greats. At first glance the material on this album might appear unremarkable. You will have seen many of the tracks on singles or on other albums and, in most cases, heard the majority of these songs elsewhere. But what you will not have heard is these particular songs mixed by Prince Jammy.

At the time Jammy was working extensively with the producer of this set, Bunny ‘Striker' Lee, and was at the beginning of his own production career. Totally in tune with what was currently being played on Kingston 's sound systems. These mixes were clearly aimed at a sound system audience. Consequently they are mixed quite differently from other versions of the same songs. Deep heavy mixes that have a rawness and sparseness that were perfect for Jamaican Sound Systems. That was the original target audience for the mixes on this album.

There was a brief period, around late 1977, when it looked as if the type of sound system mixes that had always been popular with operators and selectors might actually become part of the reggae mainstream. With his finely tuned antennae Striker picked up on this potential new market and gave these recordings to Count Shelly to release. The album, 20 Golden Greats, came out in early 1978 with no real indication of what might be in the grooves. It appeared on Shelly's London based Third World label and, was never pressed in Jamaica. The record sold in very small numbers and then disappeared. It has since become a collector's item. Truly rare and totally unique.

There are very few albums like this that ever appeared in the history of reggae. A remix album before such a genre had become part of popular culture. This is album is a soulful gem. Re-packaged and re-mastered from the original master tapes. It's a quality package for one of Jamaica 's greatest ever vocalists. Delroy Wilson as you have never heard him before. Remixed by Prince Jammy and executive-produced by Bunny ‘Striker' Lee.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. I'm Still Waiting
  2. You Have To Get A Beating
  3. Love Uprising
  4. She Is Just A Play Girl
  5. Here Come The Heartaches
  6. Can I Change My Mind
  7. Who Cares
  8. A Bright And Sunny Day
  9. I'm Doing My Thing
  10. Joe Liges
  1. Ms. Grace
  2. Living In The Foot Steps Of Another Man
  3. Mash It Up
  4. Better Must Come
  5. Rain From The Skies
  6. Stick By Me
  7. You Are Mine
  8. Find Yourself Another Girl
  9. Conquer Me
  10. Do Good (Everyone Will Be Judged)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.