FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Dragonlord - Dominion (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Dragonlord - Dominion

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD01312

A decade after the release of Black Wings of Destiny – the most recent acclaimed full-length release by Dragonlord, the passion project of Testament guitarist Eric Peterson – the wait is finally over for fans of the high-fantasy symphonic black/death metal project. The long-awaited third Dragonlord album, entitled Dominion features eight tracks of devastatingly unrelenting black and death metal assault. Dominion explores themes of darkness owning and influencing these times we now live in, and things that have come to pass. It also delves into other eras, real and imagined.

The gates creak open on opener, "Entrance" and there's no turning back. The pummeling begins with the title track, "Dominion," welcoming all who dare enter into an eternity of misfortune. Then it's into "Ominous Premonition," which Peterson likens to "the soundtrack to the gates of hell." 
"The Northlanders" is about brutal 11th century Northmen, while "The Discord of Melkor" will thrill Lord of the Rings fans with an untold tale – "my take on Tolkien's "Silmarillion," the first age of the Lord of the Rings saga genesis," says Peterson. Then there's the surprise of the slower, Black Sabbath-influenced duet with "my amazing Celtic vocalist friend and collaborator Leah," Peterson explains about "Love of the Damned," an abstract piece that still explores a love story – with the devil, of course. "Almost like a switch-up story of if Beatrice from "Dante's Inferno" did fall for the Prince of Darkness!"

Recorded at Trident Studios near Peterson's Northern California home, Dominion took about four years to complete, between Testament tours and albums. Peterson produced the album with an assist from engineer/mixer Juan Urteaga (Testament, Machine Head, M.O.D.), and mastering was undertaken by famed producer/engineer Jens Bogren of Fascination Street Studios in Sweden. Dominion's eight songs create a deep and heady musical journey rife with meaning and menace, from the blackest and loudest recesses of Eric Peterson's mind.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Entrance
  2. Dominion
  3. Ominous Premonition
  4. Lamia
  5. Love of the Damned
  6. Northlanders
  7. The Discord of Melkor
  8. Serpents of Fire

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More