FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Electric Light Orchestra - Out of the Blue (Picture Disc Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Electric Light Orchestra - Out of the Blue

(Picture Disc Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDE61611

First-Ever Picture Disc Edition of Classic Album Released in Celebration of Its 40th Anniversary!

Celebrating the 40th anniversary of Electric Light Orchestra's top-selling double album, Out of the Blue, Legacy Recordings releases a first-time-ever picture disc edition. This 180g 2LP collector's picture disc edition was remastered from the original master tapes and includes a digital download of the album. One of the indisputable masterpieces – and most commercially successful titles – in the ELO canon, Out of the Blue, the group's seventh studio album, was originally released in October 1977.

The musical and conceptual brainchild of Jeff Lynne, who wrote and produced the entire album, Out of the Blue is among the most ambitious double albums in classic rock history, a complex and visionary work that included, as the album's complete Side 3, Lynne's "Concerto for a Rainy Day," a coherent song suite comprised of four movements and authentic ambient weather effects recorded by Lynne and incorporated into the soundscape of the record.

Out of the Blue was the first ELO album to feature the group's logo as a three-dimensional flying saucer/space station, a visual motif central to ELO's live shows. The album, which peaked at #4 on the Billboard 200 has gone on to sell upwards of 10 million copies worldwide. Out of the Blue is the first double album in UK chart history to spawn four Top 20 singles. "Forty years on, I would never have imagined that this music would take on a life of its own," says Lynne.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Turn to Stone
  2. It's Over
  3. Sweet Talkin' Woman
  4. Across the Border
  5. Night in the City
  6. Starlight
  7. Jungle
  8. Believe Me Now
  9. Steppin' Out
  1. Standin' in the Rain
  2. Big Wheels
  3. Summer and Lightning
  4. Mr. Blue Sky
  5. Sweet Is the Night
  6. The Whale
  7. Birmingham Blues
  8. Wild West Hero

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.