FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Elvis Perkins - The Blackcoat's Daughter: Original Soundtrack (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Elvis Perkins - The Blackcoat's Daughter: Original Soundtrack

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDP30157

Originally titled February, Osgood Perkins' debut film was a festival hit in 2015 and has now been picked up for wider distribution by A24 under a new title, The Blackcoat's Daughter. The film is a bleakly desolate slow burn, harkening back to such classics as Rosemary's Baby and  Let's Scare Jessica to Death with its brooding atmosphere and emphasis on perpetual unease and dread rather than jump scares. It's a remarkable debut, signalling the arrival of a real talent.

The soundtrack was written by Elvis Perkins (Osgood's younger brother, who released the critically acclaimed albums Ash Wednesday and Dearland). Here he has created a dark eerie masterpiece that fuses classic 1970's horror soundtrack tropes with his traditional folk roots. Forgoing synth work for traditional instruments and an experimental atonal vibe, it's beguiling, otherworldly, and not of its time, which is exactly why it sounds so vital right now. This soundtrack is a rare beast indeed, uninterested in instant gratification and providing an easy one shot listen; this is a score to be savored and poured over many times.

180g vinyl pressing with artwork by Jay Shaw plus accompanying download card. 

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Incantation (The Blackcoat's Daughter)
  2. Rose Dream
  3. Against The Stream
  4. In The Garden
  5. The Fire Light
  6. Forget Me Not
  7. Pregnant Pause
  8. Maidhood
  9. Sickle & Gnomon
  10. To The Furnace Room
  11. Ablution
  12. Believe In God
  13. Sharpen The Blade
  14. You Had Your Chance
  15. Crossing Days
  16. Mare's Milk
  17. Snow Graves
  18. In Sunday Best
  19. Dial The Darkestra/Draked/Dream Redux
  20. Roseblud
  21. Trail of Blood/Hail/Open the Door Lucifer
  22. His Majesty
  23. Fatherless Child/You Will Go From This Place
  24. In The Mourning Light
  25. Outcantation (The Blackcoat's Daughter)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.