FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Hand-Picked Favorites > Roots and Country > Emmylou Harris - The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Expanded Edition) (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Emmylou Harris - The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Expanded Edition)

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDH34286

2LP Expanded Edition of One of Emmylou Harris' Personal Favorites featuring Remastered Sound & Unreleased Demos!

One of the singer's most personal albums, Emmylou Harris once called her concept album, The Ballad Of Sally Rose a country opera. Released in 1985, the song cycle is loosely based on her short time with influential singer-songwriter Gram Parsons, who died in 1973. Known more for singing songs written by others, this was Harris' first self-composed album and it remains one of her favorites. Rhino/Warner Bros. revisit this underrated gem with a 2LP Expanded Edition that features a newly remastered version of the original album along with unreleased demos for most songs on the album.

For years, Harris used the name Sally Rose as an alias on tour. So when she started writing songs about a singer whose lover and mentor - a hard-living, hard-drinking musician - is killed while on the road, the name Sally Rose was a natural fit. Harris says the idea for the album had been brewing for years, but she needed time away from the road to write. "That happened in 1982, when, after hearing and being stunned by Bruce Springsteen's masterpiece, Nebraska, I realized it was time to leave my comfort zone as interpreter, and follow Sally's muse into the unknown territory of full-time songwriter."

Highlights from The Ballad of Sally Rose include the singles "White Line" - which reached No. 14 on the country charts - and "Rhythm Guitar" with Waylon Jennings on lead guitar. In addition, Dolly Parton and Linda Ronstadt sing harmony throughout the album. Two years later, the friends and frequent collaborators would release their first album together, Trio, which sold more than four million copies and won two Grammy Awards. The Expanded Edition's bonus LP introduces unreleased demo recordings for 10 tracks. Most feature Harris accompanying herself on acoustic guitar giving these versions a stripped-back intimacy. In the liner notes, Grammy-winning music writer Colin Escott says the demos are the Nebraska edition of Sally Rose. "Stark and haunting. Vulnerability and resilience, always her hallmarks, were never closer to the surface."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. The Ballad Of Sally Rose
  2. Rhythm Guitar
  3. I Think I Love Him / You Are My Flower
  4. Heart To Heart
  5. Woman Walk The Line
  6. Bad News
  7. Timberline
  8. Long Tall Sally Rose
  9. White Line
  10. Diamond In My Crown
  11. The Sweetheart Of The Rodeo
  12. K-S-O-S
  13. Sweet Chariot
  1. Timberline (Demo)
  2. The Sweetheart Of The Rodeo (Demo)
  3. Sweet Chariot (Demo)
  4. The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Demo)
  5. Heart To Heart (Demo)
  6. Woman Walk The Line (Demo)
  7. White Line (Demo)
  8. Diamond In My Crown (Demo)
  9. Rhythm Guitar (Demo)
  10. Bad News (TV Mix)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.