FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Eric B. and Rakim - The Complete Collection 1987 - 1992 (Vinyl 8LP + 2CD Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Eric B. and Rakim - The Complete Collection 1987 - 1992

(Vinyl 8LP + 2CD Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDE11806

Featuring All 4 of the Pioneering Hip-Hop Duo's Studio Albums Across 8LPs Plus a Bonus 2CD-Set of 20 Rare Remixes from 1986-1992, Booklet & Liner Notes

Legendary hip-hop duo Eric B. & Rakim first formed in Long Island, NY, in 1985. The premier DJ/MC team, not only was their chemistry superb, but individually, each represented the absolute state of the art in their respective skills. Between 1987 and 1992, they released four acclaimed albums, the platinum-selling Paid In Full (1987), Follow The Leader (1988), Let The Rhythm Hit ‘Em (1990) and Don't Sweat The Technique (1992).

Paid In Full caused a stir in the hip-hop music world due to its novel sound, approach, and subject matter. Their songs were the first to really impart hip-hop music lyrics with a serious poetic device sensibility while their gritty, heavy, and dark beats, marked the beginning of heavy sampling in hip-hop records. As a disc jockey, Eric B. reinstated the art of live turntable mixing and his soul-filled sampling became influential in future hip hop production. Second effort Follow the Leader is also their second out and out classic record. Following the same formula as their debut it's anchored by Eric B.'s innovative production style and Rakim's blisteringly brilliant braggadocio. Home to high-water marks like "Microphone Feind" and "Follow the Leader," the golden age of hip-hop certainly has a surplus of fantastic LPs but Follow the Leader is right near the top.

The dynamic duo's relentless rhymes and impeccable production continued to reign supreme through to their third release, Let the Rhythm Hit 'Em which yielded the trio of singles "In the Ghetto," "Let The Rhythm Hit 'Em" and "Mahogany." Eric B. & Rakim's unprecedented five year run ended with their fourth and final album to date, Don't Sweat the Technique which found the twosome going out on top with hip-hop masterpieces like the title cut, "The Punisher," "Casualties Of War," and Juice theme song "Know The Ledge."

Eric B. & Rakim reunited in 2017 for a string of one-off shows commemorating the 30th anniversary of Paid in Full. In 2018 they will undertake their first major tour together since their initial break up in 1993. The Complete Collection 1987-1992 is a true hip-hop collectors dream, featuring all four of the pioneering act's studio albums across 8LPs plus a bonus 2CD set containing over 20 remixes from 1986-1992, booklet, liner notes and more!


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Paid In Full
  1. I Ain't No Joke
  2. Eric B. Is On The Cut
  3. My Melody
  4. I Know You Got Soul
  5. Move The Crowd
  6. Paid In Full
  7. As The Rhyme Goes On
  8. Chinese Arithmetic
  9. Eric B. Is President
  10. Extended Beat
Follow The Leader
  1. Follow The Leader
  2. Microphone Fiend
  3. Lyrics Of Fury
  4. Eric B. Never Scared
  5. Just A Beat
  6. Put Your Hands Together
  7. To The Listeners
  8. No Competition
  9. The R
  10. Musical Massacre
  11. Beats For The Listeners
Let The Rhythm Hit 'Em
  1. Let The Rhythm Hit 'Em
  2. No Omega
  3. In The Ghetto
  4. Step Back
  5. Eric B. Made My Day
  6. Run For Cover
  7. Untouchables
  8. Mahogany
  9. Keep 'Em Eager To Listen
  10. Set 'Em Straight
Don't Sweat The Technique
  1. What's On Your Mind
  2. Teach The Children
  3. Pass The Hand Grenade
  4. Casualties Of War
  5. Rest Assured
  6. The Punisher
  7. Relax With Pep
  8. Keep The Beat
  9. What's Going On
  10. Know The Ledge
  11. Don't Sweat The Technique
  12. Kick Along

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.