FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Euphoria - Euphoria (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Euphoria - Euphoria

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDE75497

Vinilisssimo present a reissue of Euphoria's self-titled debut album, originally released in 1969. Music genres are labeled for a good reason. They can be of great help when it comes to putting sounds into a few words. This terrific album is usually filed with the "sunshine" tag on it and it's hard to think of a better way to describe the dazzlingly bright songs recorded in 1969 by this American band. The core of the group was formed by Roger and Wendy, an acoustic duo that was a regular performer at New York City's Greenwich Village scene of folk clubs. Two more members, Tom Pacheco and Sharon Alexander, joined them in Euphoria during their brief existence.

The band signed to Heritage Records and recorded this fantastic self-titled debut, featuring songs mostly written by Pacheco and led vocally by Roger and Wendy. Their music was built around radiant vocal harmonies and solid arrangements, echoing artists such as The Mamas & The Papas, Free Design, and The 5th Dimension, but with a distinctive lysergic edge. "There Is Now," the opening track, is a beautiful example of the psych twist that eventually spiced up the strongest songs of the album, as is "Ride The Magic Carpet." On the other hand, "Tucson" or "You Must Forget" are dreamy folk numbers that show the band's smoother side. And the catchy "Calm Down" makes you wonder about Euphoria's commercial appeal if they had been strongly backed by promotional efforts.

However, by the time the LP came out in 1969, this kind of folk-pop sound had become out of fashion, and with live performances of top-selling artists such as Van Morrison, Iron Butterfly, and Sly & The Family Stone, it didn't produce very good sales figures. Euphoria disbanded shortly after their only album was released and two new different projects followed, Bermuda Triangle and Pacheco & Alexander, pursuing more contemporary sounds. Pressed on 180g vinyl and presented in facsimile gatefold sleeve.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. There Is Now
  2. What A Day
  3. Seldom Seen Slim
  4. Sun And Shadow
  5. Sitting In A Rockin' Chair
  6. Ride The Magic Carpet
  7. You Must Forget
  8. Tucson
  9. Calm Down
  10. Sleep
  11. Walkin' Thru' The City

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.