FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Fabio Frizzi - Contraband: 1980 Original Soundtrack (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Fabio Frizzi - Contraband: 1980 Original Soundtrack

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDF23937

Death Waltz Recording Company is delighted to bring you something that's a little away from the DW norm, yet still fits together with their other releases like a black leather glove: Fabio Frizzi's score to the 1980 Lucio Fulci thriller Contraband (aka Luca Il Contrabbandiere). Famed as part of the poliziotteschi movement, Contraband stars Fabio Testi as Luca, an Italian smuggler who is forced to take revenge against a new Mafioso boss after a gang war erupts into bloody murder. While the film is a crime thriller, it's notorious (like all of Fulci's pictures) for its uncompromisingly gory scenes of violence.

Frizzi's music here is irrevocably cool – and surprisingly upbeat at times. Contraband's main theme is a wonderful melody that is reprised throughout the score, with a suitable touch of melodrama. Frizzi's talent for catchy tunes is always apparent, whether it includes the stereotypical wah-wah pedal effects or some grooving slap bass. Kept modern by mixing traditional orchestral elements with electric guitar and a wailing sax, there's always a degree of underlying tension, mainly coming from the brass section, and there's some amazing moments featuring a big organ and a sleazy keyboard riff. This is even before the uber-catchy "You Are Not The Same," one of Frizzi's many contributions to the songs of moviedom.

Another excellent Frizzi/Fulci-fest with artwork by Graham Humphreys and vinyl mastering courtesy of James Plotkin.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 1
  2. You Are Not The Same
  3. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 2
  4. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 3
  5. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 4
  6. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 5
  7. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 6
  8. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 7
  9. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 8
  10. 0Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 9
  11. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 10
  12. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 11
  13. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 12
  14. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 13
  15. Luca Il Contrabbandiere - Seq. 14
  16. You Are Not The Same

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.