FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Gene and Eddie - True Enough: Gene and Eddie with Sir Joe at Ru-jac (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Gene and Eddie - True Enough: Gene and Eddie with Sir Joe at Ru-jac

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDG12930

First-Ever Compilation of Single Sides by Washington D.C.'s Sensational Soul Duo Gene & Eddie / Colored Copies Are Limited

Omnivore continues its restoration and reissue of the mid-'60s Baltimore R&B/soul label, Ru-Jac Records, with True Enough – the first ever compilation of single sides by Washington D.C.'s sensational soul duo, Gene & Eddie. Also included are the rare sides by Sir Joe, otherwise known as Joe Quarterman, producer/songwriter/artist, who produced and wrote many of the Gene & Eddie sides for Ru-Jac.

Coming out of the very active East coast '60s soul scene, Gene, Eddie and Joe had been active in bands and recording from the early part of the decade. They formed, or joined, regional acts with names like The Nightcaps, The Knights, Don Downing, The El Corols and The Maidens, sharing stages with bigger, national artists like Major Lance, Garnet Mimms, Joe Simon, The Soul Children, and The Emotions.

For all their ambitions, wider, national success never found them, and with only one local chart hit to their name, "It's So Hard," they eventually all had to call it quits to pursue other endeavors. However, these restored tracks give us a window into a time when east coast doo-wop met the soul explosion and got a little funky as it headed into the early '70s. Featuring rare photos and extensive liner notes, this is the definitive musical history of Gene & Eddie and Sir Joe Quarterman – true enough!

• Second release from the Ru-Jac archives
• Featuring all of the Washington D.C. soul duo's 45 sides recorded for Ru-Jac
• Also contains rare Ru-Jac sides from Gene & Eddie's producer, Sir Joe Quarterman
• Extensive liner notes & rare photos
• Download card with full CD program

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. I Would Cry
  2. I Tell You
  3. Nobody Beats My Love – Sir Joe
  4. If You Give Up Your Love – Sir Joe
  5. You Don't Fool Me
  6. Let Me Go Easy
  7. It's So Hard
  8. Sweet Little Girl
  9. Let Me Go Easy (Alternate Version)
  10. She's True Enough 11. Baby, I'd Drop Every Thing – Sir Joe
  11. Every Day (I'll Be Needing You) – Sir Joe
  12. It's No Sin
  13. You've Got To Love Me Sometimes
  14. Darling I Love You
  15. Why Do You Hurt Me

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.