FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Guided By Voices - Live From Austin, TX (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Guided By Voices - Live From Austin, TX

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDG21517

2004 Performance Pressed on Vinyl for the First Time!

"Twenty-plus years...two dozen albums...twice that many bandmates...the mad genius that is Robert Pollard finally decided it was time to bring down the curtain on one of indie rock's most innovative and, well, outrageous live bands. Certainly nobody could accuse Guided By Voices of being too tame, too mainstream, too predictable. Ever since Pollard created the "gang" in Ohio in the early 1980's with the help of his brother Jimmy and Pete Jamison (with the help of a loan to pay for the first few records), "lo-fi" may be the best descriptor for their brand of bursting, raw, no-holds-barred shout-out songs.

"The [temporary] end came in 2004, after the release of their...critically acclaimed Half Smiles of the Decomposed, and this Austin City Limits recorded on November 9, 2004 was one of their last performances. "I love the guys in the band, but I'm getting too old to be a gang leader," Pollard said...And what a finale it was. Much of it couldn't, wouldn't ever be broadcast on television - public or otherwise - but it's all here for GBV fans to savor forever. Pollard was in rare form, with buckets of beer literally and liberally decorating the stage." - Terry Lickona (Producer Austin City Limits)

"Those familiar with the band, and their live recordings, will no doubt find the set to be on par with many a GBV show – both sloppy and inspired, and usually at the exact same time." – Aquarium Drunkard

"All that frustrates and entrances about GBV is present on this double-disc set recorded for Austin City Limits...this has the feeling of a greatest hits package." – Exclaim!

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Demons Are Real
  2. Pimple Zoo
  3. Everybody Thinks I'm A Raincloud
  4. Exit Flagger
  5. Sleep Over Jack
  6. Girls of Wild Strawberries
  7. Navigating Flood Regions
  8. Gold Star For Robot Boy
  9. Window of My World
  10. Redmen And Their Wives
  11. Dayton, Ohio - 19 Something And 5
  12. My Impression Now
  13. Do The Earth
  14. Game of Pricks
  15. Secret Star
  1. My Kind of Soldier
  2. Sad If I Lost It
  3. Cut Out Witch
  4. Gonna Never Have To Die
  5. Best Of Jill Hives
  6. Watch Me Jumpstart
  7. Tractor Rape Chain
  8. Buzzards And Dreadful Crows
  9. Pendulum
  10. Murder Charge
  11. Fair Touching
  12. Teenage FBI
  13. Glad Girls
  14. I Am A Scientist
  15. Echos Myron

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.