FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Guru - Jazzmatazz Vol. 1 (Vinyl 3LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Guru - Jazzmatazz Vol. 1

(Vinyl 3LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDG20254

As the voice behind the hugely influential hip-hop duo Gang Starr, Guru not only was a key figure in the burgeoning New York hip-hop scene of the late 80s and early 90s, but his seminal debut Jazzmatazz Vol. 1 was instrumental in helping to bridge the gap between hip-hop and jazz. Now in honor of the album's 25th anniversary, it's being issued in a 3LP deluxe edition featuring instrumentals, rare remixes and B-Sides along with a book of photos from the original Jazzmatazz photo shoot shot by Thierry Le Goues.

Guru had been sampling jazz since his first single with DJ Premier as Gang Starr, "Words I Manifest" featuring Charlie Parker and Miles Davis' "A Night in Tunisia." The following year their song "Jazz Thing" appeared on Spike Lee's jazz-infused Mo Better Blues soundtrack. By 1992, he was ready to go beyond just sampling and work directly with the greats who inspired him, creating what would become a four volume series of jazz rap that combined live jazz bands and hip-hop flow.

Guru enlisted the talents of established icons – Donald Byrd (heard on "Loungin"), Lonnie Liston Smith ("Down The Backstreets"), and Roy Ayers ("Take A Look (At Yourself)") juxtaposed with fresh young talent – guitarist Ronny Jordan on "No Time To Play," saxophonist Branford Marsalis and guitarist Zachary Breaux on "Transit Ride," among others that resulted in an envious Venn diagram of jazz talent. Even more than a collaboration but a meeting of minds, many of the musicians involved also co-produced their tracks with Guru steering the whole project.

The album was embraced not only in the hip-hop and jazz circles but also found footing overseas, thanks to some vocal features by N'Dea Davenport (of the UK acid-jazz and funk groups Brand New Heavies), Dee C Lee (of The Style Council) and French rapper MC Solaar. As the MC was quoted in the album's original liner notes, "[My father and grandfather would] take me and my whole posse and sit us down in front of these speakers and make us listen to jazz." Clearly something took, as Jazzmatazz Vol. 1 remains a watershed moment between the intersection between jazz and rap.

• 25th Anniversary Deluxe 3LP-set
• Featuring original album, instrumentals, rare remixes and B-sides
• Unique sleeve artwork for each platter
• 12-page, 12" x 12" glossy booklet with photos by Thierry Le Goues
• Entire set is housed in a custom slipcase with new artwork

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Introduction
2. Loungin’ (feat. Donald Byrd)
3. When You're Near (featuring N’Dea Davenport and Simon Law)
4. Transit Ride (featuring Branford Marsalis and Zachary Breaux)
5. No Time To Play (featuring Ronny Jordan and DC Lee)
6. Down The Backstreets (featuring Lonnie Liston Smith)
7. Respectful Dedications
8. Take A Look (At Yourself) (featuring Roy Ayers)
9. Trust Me (featuring N’Dea Davenport)
10. Slicker Than Most (featuring Gary Barnacle)
11. Le Bien, Le Mal (featuring MC Solaar)
12. Sights In The City (featuring Courtney Pine, Carleen Anderson and Simon Law)

1. Loungin’ (Instrumental)
2. When You're Near (featuring Simon Law) (Instrumental)
3. Transit Ride (featuring Zachary Breaux) (Instrumental)
4. No Time To Play (featuring Ronny Jordan) (Instrumental)
5. Down The Backstreets (featuring Lonnie Liston Smith) (Instrumental)
6. Take A Look (At Yourself) (featuring Roy Ayers) (Instrumental)
7. Trust Me (Instrumental)
8. Slicker Than Most (Instrumental)
9. Le Bien, Le Mal (Instrumental)
10. Sights In The City (Instrumental)

1. Loungin' (Square Biz Mix)
2. Loungin' (Guru Meets The Professor Mix) (featuring Donald Byrd)
3. Loungin' (Jazz Not Jazz Mix) (featuring Donald Byrd)
4. No Time To Play (CJ's Longer Radio Mix) (featuring Ronny Jordan and DC Lee)
5. Trust Me Trust Me (CJ's Master Mix) (featuring N’Dea Davenport)
6. Season For Change (Ronny Jordan featuring Guru)
7. Season For Change (Dawn Of The Season Mix) (Ronny Jordan featuring Guru)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.