FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Happy End - Happy End (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Happy End - Happy End

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDH13392

The eponymous debut by Japanese folk rock pioneers Happy End was originally released on URC Records in 1970 and was voted the No. 1 rock album of the year by Japan's New Music Magazine. One of the most influential bands to come out of the '60s-'70s Tokyo folk and rock scene, Happy End was a deliberate attempt to marry the sounds of West Coast rock with a distinctively Japanese sensibility. Formed by Haruomi Hosono and the similarly music-obsessed Eiichi Ohtaki in 1969, the group was rounded out by teen guitar phenom Shigeru Suzuki and poet-drummer Takashi Matsumoto, whose stylized lyrics provided the foundation for the concept of the "Kazemachi," or "Wind City," a rapidly modernizing city with nostalgia towards the simpler life of their youth. Happy End were heavily in demand as a backing band, providing a solid rock foundation for many of the artists on URC. The success of Happy End's debut and follow-up Kazemachi Roman, proved the sustainability of Japanese-language rock in Japan.

• First release in the URC (Underground Record Club) Analog Reissue Series
• Deluxe reissue of the 1970 debut album from the legendary Happy End
• Half speed cutting remastering at Metropolis Studio in London
• Features Japanese obi strip and lyrics insert

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Haru Yo Koi (Come, Spring!)
  2. Kakurenbo (Hide And Seek)
  3. Shin Shin Shin (Newly-Fallen Snow)
  4. Tobenai Sora (Unflyable Sky)
  5. Teki Thanatos Wo Souki Seyo (Remember Your Enemy, Thanatos!)
  6. Ayaka-Shi No Doubutsu-En (Ayaka City Zoo)
  7. Juuni Gatsu No Ame No Hi (A Rainy Day in December)
  8. Ira Ira (Irritated)
  9. Asa (Morning)
  10. Happy End
  11. Zoku Happy End (Continued Happy End)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.