FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Helium - Ends With And (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Helium - Ends With And

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDH11081

Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

Led by Mary Timony (Ex Hex, Wild Flag, Autoclave), Helium was one of the most important rock bands of the ‘90s. No history of American indie should be written without a chapter on Timony, who managed to straddle multiple worlds – among them Boston's college-borne rock realm and Dischord's DC-based DIY scene – over the course of her early career. In the Boston band Helium, Timony took center stage, playing rock and roll that was anything but straightforward.

Ends With And collects the band's singles and compilation tracks. Early singles like the liberatory "Hole In The Ground," from their second 7-inch, and the churning "XXX"-"OOO" diptych, from the Pirate Prude EP, show how immediately Helium's aesthetic was established; later offerings like the swirling "What Institution Are You From," off 1995's Superball EP, and the crystalline "Puffin Stars," from a 1994 Kill Rock Stars compilation, show Timony's fluid ability to move between sinewy rock and refracted pop. The collection also contains previously unreleased material including the spindly "Golden Bridge," the last song Timony wrote for Helium, and buyers can also download rarities including an early version of The Dirt Of Luck's music-box fantasia "Lucky Charm" and an up-from-the-vaults live version of the slashing (and previously unreleased) "Green Chair."

"Compiling Ends with And has been like stumbling upon a long forgotten time capsule and trying to put the pieces in order. I hadn't heard most of the songs in a very long time. I pored over hours of unlabeled cassette demos, odd test pressings, and DAT tapes. A few of the live recordings and bonus tracks were hard to find – I knew that they existed but I had lost copies, but luckily a few kind souls had stored tapes in dusty basements and attics in various parts of the country. It's good to know that these songs will all be in one place now." – Mary Timony

• Brand new collection of rarities, b-sides, and unreleased demos (19 tracks + 6 bonus downloads)
• Includes three previously unreleased demos & one completely unreleased song
• Essays by Gerard Cosloy and Mary Timony with contributions by all former band members

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Baby Vampire Made Me
  2. XXX
  3. OOO
  4. Love $$$
  5. Lucy
  6. Termite Tree
  7. Hole In The Ground
  8. Magic Box
  1. Superball (Demo)
  2. What Institution Are You From?
  3. Lucky Charm
  4. #12 L'Enfant
  5. I Am A Witch
  6. Ghost Car (Demo)
  7. Puffin Stars
  8. Leon's Space Song (Demo)
  9. The Dragon #1
  10. Fantastic Castle
  11. Golden Bridge (Demo)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More