FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Holiday 2018 > Hottest Newly Released Vinyl > Holly Cole - Temptation (200g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Holly Cole - Temptation

(200g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LAP04845

200g 2LP Quality Record Pressing Remastered by Bernie Grundman From the Original Master Tapes

There is an intelligence and sophistication to Holly Cole's singing that sets her apart. She can imbue well-worn standards and eclectic songs with an uncanny combination of sensuality, innocence, originality and sheer musicality. Cole takes tunes everybody thinks they know and discovers new undercurrents in the venerable anthems of contemporary composers, wrapping her honesty, compassion and sardonic wit around their sometimes-fragile creations. The results are sexy, provocative, spellbinding, sometimes dangerous and never, ever dull.

Along with Cassandra Wilson and Patricia Barber, the Canadian songstress has helped redefine the world of the female jazz vocalist. In Cole's case, this can be directly linked to her ability to defy genre categorization and her ambitious musical choices. "I look at the essence of a song," muses Cole. "If it's a great lyric I often love to slow it down, explore it, dissect it and deconstruct it. I love to take it apart and then put it back together and look at it in an entirely different way. In the process, it often becomes more evocative. That's a huge part of my art form, that's a huge part of what I do."  These abilities come into full focus on her 1995 Blue Note masterpiece, Temptation, which finds Holly skillfully interpreting material by the-one-and-only Tom Waits.

Taking a minimalist approach to the arrangements and forgoing as much pre-production as possible serves Cole and the material well here. A majority of the cuts on
Temptation are first takes which heightens the spontaneous and intimately genuine feel of Cole's breathtaking performances even further. The many highlights include a catchy version of "Jersey Girl," and a rendition of "The Briar and the Rose," augmented by the Canadian Brass. Also featured here are renditions of: "Take Me Home," "Train Song," "Temptation," "Falling Down," "Invitation to the Blues," "Frank's Theme," "Little Boy Blue," "I Don't Wanna Grow Up," "Tango 'til They're Sore," "(Looking For) The Heart of Saturday Night," "Soldier's Things," "I Want You" and "Good Old World."

Analogue Productions' 200-gram 2LP reissue makes this standout album even stronger! Bernie Grundman's original tape remastering gives Cole's vocals richer detail and greater body and the premium plating/pressing from Quality Record Pressings provides flawless reproduction against a super-silent background. A Stoughton Printing old-style tip-on jacket tops off the essential package!

• 200g 2LP-set from Analogue Productions
• Remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original master tapes
• Plating and pressing by Quality Record Pressings
• Old-style tip-on jacket by Stoughton Printing

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Take Me Home 
2. Train Song 
3. Jersey Girl 
4. Temptation 
5. Falling Down 
6. Invitation To The Blues 
7. Cinny's Waltz 
8. Frank's Theme 
9. Little Boy Blue 
10. I Don’t Wanna Grow Up 
11. Tango Til They're Sore 
12. (Looking For) The Heart Of Saturday Night 
13. Soldiers Things 
14. I Want You 
15. Good Old World 
16. The Briar And The Rose 
17. Shiver Me Timbers 
18. (Looking For)The Heart of Saturday Night
19. Last Rose of Summer

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.