FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Insects Vs. Robots - TheyllKillYaa (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Insects Vs. Robots - TheyllKillYaa

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDI26612

Genre-mashing, convention-defying band Insects vs Robots once again sails over its own high bar with an album that defies convention and demands attention. TheyllKillYaa takes seemingly incompatible elements, from bitter social commentary to neo-slapstick humor to smatterings of ancient Danish folk music, crams it all into the blender built from their collective imagination, hits go and pours out a stiff shot of music unlike any other on the planet today.

Micah Nelson insists that the band has "grown a lot since our last album. Our sound has evolved quite a bit. Our band is an organic reaction to this apocalypse era we've grown up in, this age of chaos, where the world is always ending." This manifests through a gruesome metaphor of a body degrading from within as a happy, good-time guitar burbles on "Infection (Time Grows Thin)," a drift of images that pass like darkening clouds on "Become a Crow," an elegy and a warning set to a complex musical accompaniment on "Fukushima," and the title track, with vocals shouted one night against the thunder of helicopters circling just overhead, moments after police had shot an unarmed young black man steps away from the Hen house Studios in Venice Beach where they were recording.

Stir these alarming, sometimes darkly ironic tracks in with the bewitching instrumental "Matilda's Galavant," the rhythmically intricate yet eminently danceable "Ole Lukøje" and the rest of the album's seven tracks and you have one of the most ambitious, distinctive and successful reflections of these challenging times. Mastered by Bernie Grundman, and pressed at Pallas in Germany.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. TheyllKillYaa
  2. Infection (Time Grows Thin)
  3. Become A Crow
  4. Matilda's Galavant
  5. Fukushima
  6. Nothing
  7. Ole Lukøje

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.