FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Jay Dee (J Dilla) - Welcome 2 Detroit (Vinyl 2LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Jay Dee (J Dilla) - Welcome 2 Detroit

(Vinyl 2LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD20119

Welcome 2 Detroit is the 2001 debut solo album from Slum Village producer J Dilla (aka Jay Dee). The album followed the group's critically acclaimed Fantastic, Vol. 2, and kicked off BBE's Beat Generation series (producer-driven albums). The album cemented Dilla's reputation amongst those in the know as a virtuoso beatmaker. "This cat Peter from the label BBE called me to do a breakbeat album," Jay Dee explained. "Well that's what it was supposed to be cuz it's in the Beat Generation series. Instead of doing a breakbeat album, there were some cats from the Detroit that are unsigned and I gave them the opportunity to shine. With the interludes and a few other instrumentals, I just wanted a little bit of everything. Something for DJs and the people that dig it. Just something to have for the collection."

"A non-commercial romp through his personal stash of beats and ideas...A must for voyeuristic hip hop fans who pay attention to production." – Pulse, 2001

"The album is jam packed with tight grooves which cross over the kaleidoscopic sonic history of James Yancey's 26 years." – ID Magazine, 2001

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Welcome 2 Detroit
  2. Y'all Ain't Ready
  3. Think Twice
  4. The Clapper
  5. Come Get It
  6. Pause
  7. B.B.E. (Big Booty Express)
  8. Beej-N-Dem Pt. 2
  1. Brazilian Groove (EWF)
  2. It's Like That
  3. Give It Up
  4. Rico Suave Bossa Nova
  5. Featuring Phat Kat
  6. Shake It Down
  7. African Rhythms
  8. One

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.