FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Jerry Lee Lewis - Southern Roots (180g Import Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Jerry Lee Lewis - Southern Roots

(180g Import Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LIL0118

The legendary 1974 sessions form the Trans Maximus Studios in Memphis, TN featuring Jerry Lee Lewis - vocals/piano, backed by Stax studio cats and members of the Blues Brothers band and Booker T. & The MGs (Steve Cropper - guitar, Donald 'Duck' Dunn - bass, Al Jackson Jr. - drums), Carl Perkins - guitar, Tony Joe White - guitar, and The Memphis Horns. At long last here are the original session tapes that produced Jerry Lee's 1974 Southern Roots LP. Produced by Huey Meaux, a fellow Louisiana wildman, the final results reveal what happens when two fiery, free-spirited forces lock horns in the studio.

Meaux had just gotten out of prison and had a reputation you wouldn't want in your family tree. Separately, Meaux and Lewis each spelled trouble in a big way and could be impossible to work with. Together? God knows what would happen. The results could be an utter disaster or a stroke of genius. As Meaux later observed, "I knew Jerry and I would fight, but in the end we'd come out with the record. We fought, but we delivered." For three days in September, 1973 Jerry Lee Lewis and Huey Meaux went at it, and each other.

Listen as Jerry Lee is turned loose in the studio by a producer who didn't try to rein in Jerry's ego. In fact, Meaux did everything he could to feed it. That ego is nowhere more evident than on Jerry's version of the Percy Sledge 1966 hit, "When A Man Loves A Woman," which Jerry turns into a sermon on war between the sexes. Jerry and Huey cut mostly southern music – soul, country, R&B and a touch of swamp pop. They even included a surprisingly impassioned version of Johnny Ray's 1952 hit record, "Cry."

There was also supposed to be a second Southern Roots album. Only 10 tracks ever appeared on the original LP – a scant 34 minutes of music - but Bear Family has expanded it here with the music that was scheduled to appear on the second 'lost album,' all neatly overdubbed. They also present the stuff you were never meant to hear, and there's plenty of it. Over 40 years later this expanded 180g 2LP release of Southern Roots lets you be a fly on the wall as Jerry and Huey square off, laughing, arguing and making music late into the night. Jerry Lee Lewis as you've never heard him before!

• 180g 2LP-set featuring 20 tracks
• Original session tapes that produced Jerry Lee Lewis' 1974 Southern Roots LP
• Expanded with the music that was scheduled to appear on the second 'Lost Album'
• Direct Metal Mastering
• Manufactured by Pallas
• Fold-out sleeve

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Meat Man
2. When A Man Loves A Woman
3. Hold On I'm Coming
4. Just A Little Bit
5. Born To Be A Loser
6. Haunted House
7. Blueberry Hill
8. The Revolutionary Man
9. Big Blue Diamonds
10. That Old Bourbon Street Church

1. Silver Threads Among The Gold
2. Hold On I'm Coming (fast version)
3. Take Your Time
4. All Over Hell And Half Of Georgia
5. I Sure Miss Those Good Old Times
6. Raining In My Heart
7. Honey Hush
8. Cry
9. Margie
10. Studio Chatter #8 - Polk Salad Annie

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.