FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > John Maus - Songs (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

John Maus - Songs

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDM07418

Broadly cut from the synth pop cloth, enigmatic Austin, MN musician John Maus has fashioned the frosty minimalism of its fabric into a cloak of infinite meaning, genuine grace and absurdist humor over the course of five defining albums since 2006, most recently being 2017's Screen Memories and 2018's Addendum. Ribbon Music is pleased to present heavyweight 180g vinyl reissues of Maus's long out of print first three full length albums - Songs (2006), Love Is Real (2007) and We Must Become the Pitiless Censors of Ourselves (2011) - with audio sourced from the original masters and lacquers cut at Abbey Road Mastering.

Questing synthesizers, tensely strung bass lines and chasing drum machines provide the perfect backdrop for Maus's deeply resonant reverb-drenched vocals. Born in the decade of synth pop and sharing his birthday with George Frideric Handel, John started making music when Nirvana posters went up on every teenager's wall. It's this curious conflux of influences that help to describe John's music. It's a world where the Germs jam with Jerry Goldsmith, Cabaret Voltaire relocate to Eternia and Josquin des Prez writes a new score for RoboCop. The confrontation of punk, the fleeting poignancy of '80s movie soundtracks, the insistent pulse of Moroder and the spirituality of Medieval and Baroque music all find salvation in his music.

John's debut album proper simply entitled Songs was released through Upset The Rhythm in 2006. It's a record permeated with aching memories; a perfect testimony to lost romance and longing.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Opening
  2. Time To Die
  3. Don't Be A Body
  4. That Night
  5. Real Bad Job
  6. Forever And Ever And Ever
  7. Maniac
  8. Just Wait Til Next Year
  9. I'm Only Human
  10. Less Talk More Action
  11. Through The Skies For You
  12. Blowing In The Mind
  13. Of North Of North Stars
  14. It Takes Time
  15. The Peace That Earth Cannot Give
  16. And Heaven Turned To Her Weeping

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.