FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Julie Doiron - Desormais / Heart and Crime (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Julie Doiron - Desormais / Heart and Crime

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD31310

Julie Doiron's stunning album Désormais, originally released via Jagjaguwar in 2001, marked a departure from the Canadian artist's grunge pop releases in the '90s. Like its title might suggest, the intimate record is sung almost entirely in French. Across its 10 tracks, Doiron builds a disarming and warm atmosphere - through minimally-composed fingerpicking, her soft voice steers a wounded sound. Even for the English-speaking listener, the cohesion of the LP's subdued, immersive atmosphere looms. Heart and Crime, released in 2002, traverses much of the same territory. It's a companion to its predecessor, similarly vulnerable and scarce compositionally, save for flickers of brass or a piano line flitting in or out. Again, its weight comes from its somber simplicity, in Doiron's wistful voice and lyricism.

Désormais and Heart and Crime serve as visceral time capsules for Doiron's own personal history. It's fitting, then that the records are also distinct placeholders within the Jagjaguwar canon. Désormais and Heart and Crime came at a time just as the label began to widen its scope. Doiron's work was amongst the first in a new era of Jagjaguwar artists that expanded the label's roster and aesthetic, ushering in new and diverse definitions of their early dedication to emotional dissonance. Désormais was limited to CD and the Heart and Crime vinyl has long since been out of print. This 2LP reissue replicates each album's original art and has been specially designed to create the illusion of two front covers.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Ce Charmant Coeur
  2. La Jeune Amoureuse
  3. Faites De Beaux Reves
  4. Don't Ask
  5. Le Piano
  6. Tu Es Malades
  7. Au Contraire
  8. Pour Toujours
  9. Penses-Donc (Tu Es Seule)
  10. Faites De Beaux Reves (2)
  1. Wintermitts
  2. Too Much
  3. Shivers + Crickets
  4. All Their Broken Hearts
  5. Sending The Photographs
  6. I Broke His Heart
  7. The Surgery Is Over
  8. Who Will Be The One?
  9. The One You Love
  10. I Love To Dance
  11. It's Okay To Stare
  12. Oh These Walls

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.