FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Kicking Giant - Halo (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Kicking Giant - Halo

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDK67415

Halo was issued in 1993 as a compilation of Kicking Giant's work since its inception – a mix of previously released songs on cassette and more recently recorded artifacts since their relocation to Olympia, Washington. The concept of the album was to take advantage of the expanded capacity of the CD format and create an ersatz mixtape. The song selection wildly fluctuates from melodic-punk ("Satellite," "Weird") to anarchic ("Go Girl"), experimental abstraction ("Rachel's Song") to delicate ballads ("If Not You," "The Way That You Are"). In between there are lo-fi, 4-track experiments ("Cry Baby Cry," "Hi"), an appearance by celebrated artist, Nikki McClure ("Rocket Dreams"), a dreamlike cover of a Gershwin tune ("Five – I Loves You Porgy"), layered guitar noise graffiti ("Throw," "Halo"), and a bona fide punk anthem ("Fuck The Rules") thrown in for good measure.

When Halo was first released, the original vision for this record was that a fellow misfit with a voracious hunger might cross paths with it, and though she may be perplexed at first – connect the dots by her own design and make it her own private soundtrack, from one oddball to another. Now in 2017, Drawing Room Records presents Halo as an open love letter to the fellow travelers from the heady days of zines and letters and mail order records, and with a hope that the spirit of openness may still have a place in connecting with faraway strangers and our passion for noise and beautiful collisions.

The original release of the Halo CD was packaged in a origami styled folded enclosure and a mini lyric book. The current reissue deletes three original tracks ("Suck", "13.13.13.", "Mario") while adding one new song from the present cassette album ("Cry Baby Cry") due to time limits of the LP format.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Satellite
  2. Weird
  3. Three
  4. Throw
  5. Five
  6. The Way That You Are
  7. Cry Baby Cry
  8. Ruby Red
  9. Rocket
  10. Go Girl (Riot)
  11. Rachel's Song
  12. Fuck The Rules
  13. This Sex
  14. If Not You
  15. Halo
  16. Hi
  17. Rocket Dreams
  18. Stereo Hi Fi
  19. Love Science
  20. Come In Colors

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.