FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein - Stranger Things: Soundtrack Vol. 1 (Colored Vinyl 2LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein - Stranger Things: Soundtrack Vol. 1

(Colored Vinyl 2LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDD19525

Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

A love letter to the '80s supernatural classics that captivated a generation, the Duffer Brothers' Stranger Things is the breakout Netflix original series set in 1983 Indiana where a young boy vanishes into thin air. As friends, family and local police search for answers, they are drawn into an extraordinary mystery involving top-secret government experiments, terrifying supernatural forces and one very strange little girl.

Stranger Things Volumes One and Two comprise Season One's (2016) original score by Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, of Austin, TX experimental synth band S U R V I V E. "The directors were previously fans of S U R V I V E. They used a song from our first LP in a trailer they made to pitch their concept to Netflix. Once the show was picked up, they reached out to see if we were available to score the show," Dixon stated. Stein added, "We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show but being reserved enough that it wasn't '80s cheese, while offering a refreshing quality so that it felt modern. This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked, but with an overall forward thinking approach."

With its pillowy synth-pads and rich textures, the soundtrack to Volume One seamlessly wanders through the '80s world of Stranger Things, breeding an unthreatening serenity with a gentle shift toward a darker mood. By track 11, listeners are plunged into a nightmare before they even have time to blink; a change pulled off with uncanny grace. The score effectively taps into a unique, strange world of terror and springs it upon the audience with a considered precision. This soundtrack is instantly reminiscent of works by John Carpenter, Tangerine Dream and Vangelis, whilst also delving into the ambience of Aphex Twin and more modern composers such as Cliff Martinez.

Now available on colored double vinyl with thick heavyweight gatefold sleeve, printed inserts featuring album credits and additional artwork.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Stranger Things
  2. Kids
  3. Nancy and Barb
  4. This Isn't You
  5. Lay-Z-Boy
  6. Friendship
  7. Eleven
  8. A Kiss
  9. Castle Byers Side
  10. Hawkins
  11. The Upside Down
  12. After Sarah
  13. One Blink for Yes
  14. Photos In the Woods
  1. Fresh Blood
  2. Lamps
  3. Hallucinations
  4. Hanging Lights
  5. Biking to School
  6. Are You Sure?
  7. Agents
  8. Papa
  9. Cops Are Good at Finding
  10. No Weapons
  11. Walking Through the Upside Down
  12. She'll Kill You
  13. Run Away
  14. No Autopsy
  15. Dispatch
  16. Joyce and Lonnie Fighting
  17. Lights Out
  18. Hazmat Suits
  19. Theoretically
  20. You Can Talk to Me
  21. What Else Is There to Do?
  22. Hawkins Lab

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.