FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lee Hazlewood - Forty (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lee Hazlewood - Forty

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDH16117

Originally titled Will The Real Lee Hazlewood Please Stand Up?, Forty was a different kind of Hazlewood album, one in which Lee just focused on being a performer. In 1969 on the eve of his 40th birthday, Lee flew to England and enlisted Shel Talmy (The Kinks, The Who, Chad & Jeremy, Bert Jansch) to produce an album and hand pick the songs. Shel picked some incredible songs for Lee to sing and even wrote him a song that should've been a hit, "Bye Babe." Recorded at famed IBC recording studio with cream of the crop British session musicians and arrangers, no expense was spared. Nicky Hopkins piano/organ work on "The Bed" and "The Night Before" evoke his then recent work with the Rolling Stones on Beggar's Banquet and Let It Bleed. Arranger David Whitaker's (Serge Gainsbourg, Vashti Bunyan, Air, "Bittersweet Symphony") wizardry creates a lush, sophisticated orchestral sound.

Forty begins with the boozy suite "It Was A Very Good Year," a swingin' shapeshifter that could've been a James Bond theme. The album traverses many styles from melancholy baroque orchestral pop ("What's More I Don't Need Her," "Bye Babe," "The Night Before") to country funk ("The Bed," "Let's Burn Down the Cornfield"). Lee liked his work with Shel so much that tracks from Forty were included on subsequent Hazlewood albums Cowboy in Sweden (1970) and Movin' On (1977). Light in the Attic Records is proud to continue its Lee Hazlewood Archival series with an expanded reissue of Forty. Every track Shel and Lee recorded for Forty is included here for the first time, including the outtake "For Once in My Life" and the previously unreleased backing track "Send Out Love."

• Remastered from pristine LHI master tapes
• Includes session outtake "For Once in My Life" and previously unreleased backing track "Send Out Love"
• Liner notes by Hunter Lea including an interview with Shel Talmy
• Archival photos
• LP housed in a deluxe gatefold Stoughton tip-on jacket

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. It Was a Very Good Year 
  2. What's More I Don't Need Her 
  3. The Night Before
  4. The Bed
  5. Paris Bells
  6. Wait Till Next Year
  7. September Song
  8. Let's Burn Down the Cornfield
  9. Bye Babe
  10. Mary
  11. For Once in My Life
  12. Send Out Love (backing track)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.