FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lee Hazlewood - Requiem for an Almost Lady (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lee Hazlewood - Requiem for an Almost Lady

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDH16216

Light in the Attic Records is proud to continue its Lee Hazlewood Archival Series with LHI Records' final release. 1971's Requiem for An Almost Lady is a personal statement and one of the heaviest break-up albums of all time. There are no lilting strings, sweeping choirs, or dancing trumpets. The arrangements are stripped down to the raw nerve; Lee's emotions are the orchestra here. The listener eavesdrops on a sonic journal of heartbreak. After losing his lady, his record label, and his country, Lee Hazzlewood etches his woes to wax.

"This is a group of songs about one lady...her name is not important...she knows who she was...What is important is once she loved me very much...These songs are a truthful attempt to show the effect the loss of this love had on me...They are not all sad songs full of self pity and remorse...but more a mixture of good and hard time, old and new thought, lost and found feeling, and near and far places...There was no pleasure (as there usually is) in writing this album...there was only the dull "thud" of realization that something you once took for granted is gone...and those "blue eyes" will never again look through this "old grey curtain"...The lady is dead now and I'm still alive...doing the same things with others I once did with her...and maybe that's what being alive is all about...if it isn't...to hell with it." - Lee Hazlewood

• Remastered from pristine LHI master tapes
• Includes outtake "I've Just Learned to Run" and previously unreleased demo "Little Bird"
• Liner notes by Hunter Lea including an interview with Suzi Jane Hokom
• LP housed in a deluxe gatefold Stoughton tip-on jacket

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. I'm Glad I Never...
  2. If It's Monday Morning
  3. L.A. Lady
  4. Won't You Tell Your Dreams
  5. I'll Live Yesterdays
  6. Little Miss Sunshine (Little Miss Rain)
  7. Stoned Lost Child
  8. Come On Home to Me
  9. Must Have Been Something I Loved
  10. I'd Rather Be Your Enemy
  11. I Just Learned to Run
  12. Little Bird (demo)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.